Why isn't anyone Steeming for charity?

in #steemit7 years ago

So I had an idea..


I'm relatively new here, but already I see enormous potential in the Steemit community. It's ability to provide top quality content and reward authors, photographers, and users of all sorts for their contributions.

The idea of hitting the "upvote" button and rewarding someone's efforts with seemingly little or not cost to yourself, a fantastic system of value.

So people are getting $1000 for their vacation photos, hundreds of dollars for links to news articles with a brief synopsis, their musings and opinions...

Why aren't there more charities here?


kids.jpg

My brief search for Steemit charities produced few results. Many of them abandoned tags and projects. You would think, just about everyone would like to help the less fortunate (disabled, children, etc.) especially if it cost them nothing, right?

Most of you probably turn down the lady at the grocery store asking for the $1 donation. And I get it, you just spent $100 on groceries, who's gonna pay another dollar a week? I don't mean to insult any of you who actually do give money to charities, I am involved in a few myself through my Fraternity. But what if it cost you nothing? Hit the "like" button as you check out and we'll give some change from this transaction to the blind. No problem!

Why don't we Upvote for the Kids?

What if we took a post, resteemed it and upvoted and took 100% of the profit and donated toys and coloring books to a Children's Hospital?

A collective donation from the Steemit community. I'm sure the recipients would show their gratitude and wouldn't mind taking a picture, their smiling faces, maybe even holding up Steemit signs if we're lucky. Doing good for people, positive publicity for our platform and its power, and the satisfaction of knowing (and seeing!) we helped someone.

No other social media platform is doing this.

Any of them can accept dollars and donations through paypal, but how many can help kids with Likes alone?

Would you be willing to resteem and upvote a post to brighten a misfortunate childs life? Think others would?

So my idea was to determine how much money would be needed to donate something meaningful to local causes, with kids as a focus (because it's really not fair what some have to go through, so early). My lodge does a "coloring books and crayons" drive where they buy the aforementioned (about 2k worth) for the entire Children's Hospital.

I'm open to suggestions. I'm willing to write the posts, take 100% of the profits (or decline payout if we dont reach the necessary goal, because I can't proceed if I dont have enough for everybody) and order the toys or whatever we're donating (something more tangible than handing a big check to the hospital staff, I want to put toys in kids hands and see their faces brighten) and I'll deliver them personally. (It would be an honor). Or we could directly ship them.

Hell, have an author you trust do it, or downvote me into oblivion if I don't. The first thing everyone I tell about this says is "oh nobodys gonna trust you". And I get it, but I'm not asking for money. And I'm promising proof (pictures) with results.

If there's a better way to do it, I'm open to suggestions. I've invested in this platform, I'm willing to volunteer my time, and I want to help more people.

I'm not here to cheerlead for Unicef, March of Dimes (their CEO is a crook anyways) or any other organization, not even the ones I belong to. I want to bring recognition to Steemit and help kids. I still believe there are other good people out there.

Any comments, suggestions, or questions welcome

If you would Upvote and resteem a post where 100% of the payout goes to charity of this nature, please let me know in the comments. I'm open to suggestions or collaboration from any other kind hearted individuals who want to get in involved or help somehow. Or just tell me I'm wasting my time, I appreciate honesty.

Sort:  

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!

Just follow @steemvote and...

  • we follow back
  • send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet
  • upvote your newest posting

Flagged till you removed yours ! from my article that you did a blooper and lost your BCC as you claim ! How to get BitcoinCash from your Bitcoin

Following your instructions resulted in the loss of hundreds of dollars of bitcoin cash. Taking another 20 cents from me isn't gonna make much difference dude.

ElectronCash ver 2.9.2. is out its working and you can send your BCC out if you have used 2FA before, you just need to compile it on python

Which part of IT WORKS you don't understand ?

BCC_BTC.jpg

your disability do read properly cost you hundreds of dollars !

Also i didn't flag you for your 20cents but since you flaged first (because again you can't read) , so it goes flag for a flag !

I think, its very nice and motivational blog as far charity is concenred and yet is very logical as well. I think every steemian after their thresold level should contribute to the underprivileged section of the society, and i have a strong sense that after reaching a thresold level, money does not give that much feel, so we should do some noble things instead....Thanks

I think exactly the same!!! That's why I gathered some friends and created this account =)
we want to be posting 'causes', we started with a simple one to see what could happen.
Will you be posting only charity in your steemit profile? or just let us know when you post something so we upvote you and resteem n_n
We also will be checking the 'charity' tag to search to new causes all around the world and help a little with our minnow power x)
I hope this platform becomes part of change to help people in need!

I'll be posting some other content as I intend to be a long time user (I powered up with quite a bit of steem off the bat).

However, if I do start doing charity posts, they would be clearly for charity, and I would take 100% of those funds raised and give to the cause. I was just trying to start my own as opposed to cheerleading for another charity that won't give Steemit any recognition, because I believe we can do great things with this platform.

I didn't understand this part:

as opposed to cheerleading for another charity that won't give Steemit any recognition
can you rephrase it, please?

Instead of simply advertising for another charity (Such as March of Dimes, etc.) and giving the money to them (through a link) and they use some of that to pay employees, etc.

The recipients (the hospitals, kids, etc.) won't see it as coming from Steemit, or our community. So even though the donation would come from us, it would get us no recognition and not increase awareness to the public.

That would be brilliant if you would donate to charity! I just don't think steemit is popular enough for charities to be ready to get involved with yet.

Great gesture. Have upvoted.

This is a powerful suggestion! We need Steemit to maintain conscious awareness of what's it best intentions can be, distributing wealth for all :) Much love!

I believe there is some space for charities. But from what I know Steemit does not have unlimited money. There needs to be enough money for that to happen. Otherwise Steemit can become boring as the reward pool will be drained.
I'm not sure if anyone can clarify the reasons for this, I'd be interested to know too.

I just see so many people getting hundreds of dollars in upvotes for sharing news, videos, vacation photos.. (which aren't going to any noble causes I'm sure)

I can't imagine a better reason to upvote or resteem a post than if it were going to a good cause. Especially when the next one two weeks later shows a bunch of happy kids and a big "Thank you Steemit" sign. But maybe thats a pipe dream. Heck, even if they didn't thank us I'd still be happy to help, and I'm sure all the staff would as well. Start some kind of movement. Not trying to take money out of anyone's pockets or drain the system.

EXACTLY! A guy can get $100 for pictures of his vacations and spend them in the next vacation... but also a poor school could get $100 to give breakfast to the children for 2 weeks, what's the problem there?=)

I think you are absolutely right. This is the perfect platform for charities to get support.

Congratulations @acis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59