You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Narrative, Steemit, and the Influence of Power

in #steemit5 years ago

That is a fascinating article, and could be quite discouraging. I'm not sure how I've survived on Steemit for almost a year now without using votebots, signing on to vote trails, and following the trending page. My family thinks I live in a bubble that hovers a couple of feet above physical reality, but this seems to have worked fine for me.
All I do is blog, and try to be a good community member. I look for people to support who might need it. I find people I admire and support them. I join communities that I believe are worthwhile. I stumble along, hope for the best, and often it happens.
I've met @felt.buzz on here, with his #zapfic, @shaka, with #letsmakeacollage, @f3nix, with #finishthestory, the whole crew at @SteemSTEM, @celfmagazine, @vdux with his haiku. There's you, with #speculativefiction. I could go on, because I'm leaving a lot out that makes Steemit a worthwhile experience for me.
Narrative seems to embody everything I don't like about Steemit--the auctions, the bidding. Give me a place to blog, learn, experiment and meet nice people. That's all I ask. Steemit gives me that. I just hope it continues.

Sort:  

Yeah, Steemit is a great place to just blog and note the reactions people have to your thought drippings. I don't know anywhere else I can go and get real live feedback on my writing, thought processes, etc. If I posted the stuff I post here on Facebook, nobody would read it. I'd get a lot of TL;DRs. Here, I get real engagement on long-form writing. The only other place I know of where that can happen is Medium. Narrative is much more social in nature, and I suspect the social will be played up big time once the platform goes live. The auctions likely won't last long. Once so many niches are suggested and people buy them, that activity will slow down. I'll be posting another update on Narrative sometime soon.

I look forward to it. I am addicted to writing, and Steemit does offer live feedback, you're right about that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83