Real Hunger Games: Venezuela Edition. What does it mean to be hungry? What can you learn from it? Will Steemit help?

in #steemit6 years ago

In my new Steemit adventure, I was recently in a chat talking to some nice people about Venezuela's economy. Most of them were surprised about what I was saying, and even disturbed or sad. As I was explaining the situation I realised a lot of things myself. For example: right now there is a really bad shortage of cash, and people are SELLING it. Yes that's right, people are selling cash, at a 100% or even 200% rate. And this is not only incredibly, but it's just plain sad.

Fuente

"Crisis:  a condition of instability or danger, as in social, economic, political, or international affairs, leading to a decisive change."

The average citizen is dealing with some serious issues here. The amount of people who is now underweight is amazing. And I say this comparing today's Venezuela, with the Venezuela of a few years back. Obviously there are many countries in the world who have it a lot worse. But the cultural shock that has been for us is something.

I'm talking about middle class families, not even low class. Even high class is being affected by this monster. And this is why it's shocking: it feels like we are all hungry all the time. There is a daily war to get some food, people are so desperate that they are hurting each other, they are hurting the already collapsed system, and they are hurting themselves. There's a lot people actually STARVING. I've never seen so many people eating garbage before in my life.

Fuente

Crisis has taught us a lot though. While many people take advantage in a negative way, many people see an opportunity to learn and grow, because they are searching for new creative ways to earn money. Crisis has taught us to be thankful too, it has taught us to value what we have now, and we used to have then, making us realize how lucky we were. It has shown us how strong we can be when we must. And that is why you will find many Venezuelans here, on Steemit.

You need to understand, just when you think can't get worse, the get worse. And this has been happening for years. The inflation is surprising, to be honest, I am amazed at how quickly the Dollars goes up and up and up to the stars, in just a matter of weeks, sometimes, just days.

Fuente

See that chart, it ends in Dec 2017 in Bs. 124.190 per $. But we're in February now, and we are currently at Bs. 230.000 per dollar. I'm telling you, it's ridiculous.

A personal experience.

There were times in my life where I didn't eat because I didn't want to. I still feel like that some days. But then I see how it is now, and sometimes I don't eat because I can't, and it makes me feel ridiculous. I've been trapped for years in so many weird dilemmas about what I should do with my life. But I had never been so obliged to DO something as I am right now. 

Bad thought: "It doesn't even have to be something I like, it has to be something that helps me and my family."

But why can't it be something I rather enjoy?

And this is where Steemit shows up for me. It fell from heaven somehow. My mom took me to a Steemit talk, where I met a wonderful soul: @jonsnow1983 

Fuente

But the man knows something, okay?

I was obviously skeptical. I thought it was just another scam (sorry). But he kindly explained to us what it was about, and you could see people getting excited, and they didn't even let him talk properly, because we are all in this together, and we're all going through the same. 

Fuente

I came home and immediately created an account. And the two days I had to wait for the second confirmation e-mail,  I spent them studying about Steemit. I quickly lost hope, as it looked like a very complicated system, it's not just about posting stuff and getting paid for it. But in the end I realised that I just had to learn the way it works, I had to study more, I had to know people, share thoughts, ask for help if needed.

Fuente

Steemit is quickly becoming a trend in Venezuela, because if you are earning dollars, you are kind of rich. I you get a couple of bucks per day, you feel like a King (or Queen). So obviously, there are many people interested in this community. And I think it can help, I think if you are smart enough and have enough patience to learn about this, you can go places.

I will be sharing my adventure on SteemitWorld, because what I can see right now is exactly that: this is just a new experience to learn from, I have literally nothing to lose, so I might as well just throw myself into the fire of the Steemit Adventure.

Fuente

See you on my next post!


Sort:  

Wow good post

Hey there! Nice seeing another Venezuelan here! :)

Hola @agnikana, gracias por el aporte, ya te estoy siguiendo! Si me pudieras seguir sería genial,
Espero que agregues contenido pronto para leerte!
P.D. Te he dejado un merecido upvote! ^_^

steemit - upvote.jpg


Nice post. I left you a message on steem chat... Check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60