Self Voting Is Annoying and Selfish...You need to stop NOW.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

One thing that has been getting on my nerves is people are always self-voting themselves on others' post without even upvoting the post.

article-2211967-0390E9B3000005DC-256_634x432.jpg
Image credit: google.com


Now let's get to the straight talk and no sugar coating.

Self voting has been getting on my nerves lately. I have been getting people commenting on my post for curation rewards and ONLY upvoting themselves without upvoting the post. Like for real bro, If you're going to use my post as a way to get curation and upvote your own comment, at least upvote the post. I mean it's common courtesy. And to be honest, I find it kind of rude when people do this.

I do upvote my own comments and posts, but I at least upvote the persons' post in which I did it on. (Not like my upvote is worth much anyway)

All these people are doing are voting for themselves and giving themselves money without contributing to the community. It is very selfish in my opinion and needs to stop. Steemit won't go anywhere if all we do is give ourselves money...Because the community's rewards won't be distributed evenly at all.


And according to @calamus056 , and his article "Self-voting user list since HF19", He says:

"Self-voting is a hot topic lately. As a follow up of my last article, here is the list of all self-voters that rewarded themselves with at least $100 SBD total from June 20th - July 18th 2017. All SBD values are from posts + comments and are excluding curation rewards. The total amount of visible self-votes in that period was $175,181.088 SBD (8.47% of total author rewards)."

Quote excerpt from: https://steemit.com/statistics/@calamus056/self-voting-user-list-since-hf19


And if you look at his post, it shows all of the people who actively vote for themselves. Agree with me or not, it is just a very selfish and annoying act in itself. Please be positive in the comments with constructive criticism and don't get your panties in a bunch pls...Thanks. ;)

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

I don't have a problem with voting on your own content in general, but you're very right in that there are quite a few abuse it as you described. That being said, I have yet to see anyone like that at the top of the Steemit food-chain. I doubt I ever will. Every market has its bottom-feeders

lol...true. Beautiful gif... xD

Nice post, straight to the point, no bull. I like it!

Fully upvoted and resteemed! I have experienced similar things with my more recent posts since the fork. Thank you for this no-nonsense view point - which I totally agree with lol

I'm going to submit your post for the upvote for Jerry Banfield. Good luck :)

thanks a lot! ;)

No problem man. I understand that we're allowed to do it on the platform. And I've heard many things to combat it . . mostly doing with flagging (down voting) people. I haven't done that yet. I had someone comment multiple times on one of my posts right after the fork and gave himself like 15 bucks . . he has a significant amount of SP, but didn't bother to upvote my post. Not even sure he read it, honestly.

It is allowed but I frown on it. There is a checks and balance system in place, but man, how good it would be if more people had a giving sort of view. And besides, giving is usually given back . . with more.

True...Self voting is quite annoying. And one other thing that rattles my nerves are beggars on steemit. I actually had a guy straight up ask me for SBD one time...Shameless

Congratulations @alex-icey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey man @alex-icey great post! Upvoted and resteemed, cuz it's 100% true! I hate when people do that too - yesterday posted and the topo comment that came "just for curation points" earned more than my own 500+ words post!

Untitled.png

He was kinda giving possitive feedback, but at the same time did not upvote my post! wtf???

Thanks for your support...and that is soo annoying...lol

I wonder if any of you would like to provide me with feedback on why I should keep my account powered up and voting for others.

https://steemit.com/investment/@whatsup/the-value-of-steem-power

I am posting a link, because it is related. Feel free to not vote on it. I am going to use my powered up steem to vote on your article.

What good will it do you if I don't choose to stay powered up?

Thank you for an interesting topic to discuss.

I think this comes down to how you view SteemIt. Is it an investment platform? Did I invest (I haven't, but hypothetically) $10,000 to grow my money while ALSO supporting a new social platform? If so, growing my money means voting up my own posts/comments... regardless of it I think the article I commented on was worth 10% of my daily voting distribution (which I could have used to grow my own money).

From a purely curation standpoint, people frequently comment on posts they don't agree with, as part of a discussion, and in doing so should they upvote the content even though it isn't something they agree with? Meanwhile, they obviously agree with their own post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69069.39
ETH 3914.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64