Achievement Unlocked! 7,500 Followers!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I wish there was more to celebrate! My follower count keeps going up, but my earnings keep going down. That's really confusing. With SBD at $1.4 USD at the time of writing, even powering down some money, I will not be able to make rent. I am only not panicking because it wouldn't accomplish anything useful.

Not really sure what I'm going to do, though. How did this happen? For a while in 2017 I was reliably doing 30 SBD per post, with occasional spikes to 50. Then it was 20 per post with occasional spikes to 30. Now I don't quite make 5 per post. I'd sure like to know why.

It's frustrating to see people with around 1,000 subs doing 100+ SBD per post, which would finance my lifestyle many times over, when their content is stuff like travel photography with a couple sentences of commentary. But the market wants what it wants, there is no use throwing a fit.

What should I change to reverse this trend? At this rate I'll clear 10,000 followers in 2 or 3 months but be making nothing per post besides what I give myself just in order to continue sleeping indoors and eating hot food. I'm looking back at how I spent some of my money now when the SBD was plentiful and wondering about the wisdom of those decisions.

Did I need that flamethrower? Probably not. The drone? Also no. But then there's the charity. I'm torn on this one. Half of my brain says it was foolish to give so much when I needed it to support myself. But the other half says that whatever you give to people worse off than yourself is impossible to put a price on.

Belongings are fleeting, but the knowledge that you took action to diminish the suffering of a fellow human is something you will cherish for the rest of your life. So I don't regret doing that, and nothing can happen to me that will change how I feel about it.

If only I knew what was driving whales away. I post about a lot of controversial topics, but feel there's tremendous value in doing so. It is not in me to be a sycophant. I am not here to blow smoke up anybody's ass, or to give people the warm fuzzies by telling them pleasant half-truths. Haven't we all had enough of spammers lavishing us with semi-comprehensible praise because they want money?

A number of formative experiences growing up left me with the conviction that the pursuit and defense of truth should be my highest ideal. That's a risky horse to hitch your wagon to however, as few other goals in life will make you as many enemies.

It wouldn't if people knew they could entertain objectionable ideas without necessarily having to accept them. That the exchange of ideas can be like playing with toys, instead of combat. But when you bring up sensitive topics, everybody's claws come out and their brains shut down because they've gone into battle mode.

The other possibility is that long time whales have seen all my writing by now, and unsubbed because they don't care for the video content, or silly stuff like Ultimate Zoo Battle and Stickman Adventure. That stuff is pretty far outside the original intended theme of my blog.

The solution in that case would be to go back to work writing new horror. But it's hard to find time or energy for that when you already must write 4 articles per day just to pay the bills. I'm really not sure how I'm gonna solve this, just that I have to somehow.

For Steemit to keep being my fulltime means of support, I don't just need the occasional valuable upvote. I need those people to put me on auto-upvote so the income is reliable. I dunno how to convince them to do that without begging, which I know damn well doesn't go over well here. Like a PBS televised funding drive, begging for donations.

That leaves me with precisely dick in the way of options, except maybe to experiment more with my content. If there's a means of advertising to whales I don't know about (besides the promotion button and promotion bots) I'd sure like to know about it.

Thanks for sticking with me as long as you have, though. When I have little else, I still at least have a fanbase of people who diligently read my work and leave interesting, thoughtful comments. I hope I'm still writing for you a year from now instead of flipping burgers or digging ditches.

If worse comes to worst, I know enough about how to live offgrid and aid the homeless that I should be able to do alright for myself even if I have to live under an overpass or something. As long as I have my computer I'll still be able to post here and at least make enough to eat, which is more than many less fortunate people can manage.

Another solution might be to sell most of my shit and emigrate to a country with a much cheaper cost of living. That's an idea I've floated for some time. The meager $483 or so I will make this month from SBD would go much, much further in several South American countries that come to mind.

I really hope that statement will appear needlessly dire when I look back on it. I hope SBD picks up, though I'd be doing fine if the whales who followed me a year ago had stuck around. All I can do is hold out hope, even if it's tough to type with all your fingers crossed.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

In all of this frustration, I would say just hang on. I’m in so much similar position as you and things will get better . The price will go back just save what you can.

Ps- congratulations on the milestone

@alexbeyman,
Congratz and next 8,000!

Cheers~

First of all I would like to congratulate you!
I do understand the frustration we all have especially in this drastic drop in rewards. I suspect that one of the reasons is people with bigger accounts are delegating SP to voting bots. They don’t want to waste their time upvoting good contents or people they follow. They get well paid for their delegations. Just look at the few steemiens and you will notice they don’t have much on their accounts anymore instead you see them delegating almost all of their SP. One way or another something will have to give up. To be honest with you, I have changed my mind when it comes to buying votes. It’s not profitable at all. You actually loose on your investment.
I don’t belive it’s you or your content driving whales away, it’s delegation they prefer.

"To be honest with you, I have changed my mind when it comes to buying votes. It’s not profitable at all. You actually loose on your investment."

Yup, that's why I stopped after doing it only a few times.

Well, for what it's worth, I have you on auto-upvote. And I really appreciate how much you've supported me.

Also, I think you and I have now sufficiently established that we disagree on a couple of matters, and although I don't love arguing on the internet, I appreciate that your posts challenge my beliefs from time to time. Your followers wouldn't be there if they didn't also appreciate a little bit of controversy. So keep doing what you're doing there.

The SBD rewards are going down for everyone because of the decreasing price of STEEM--at least that's my understanding of how it works. STEEM is worth fewer dollars, so there are fewer SBD to match the price. When I started here in February, a @curie vote was worth well over $100 (I think it was even close to $200 if my memory isn't deceiving me right now?), and now it's under $70. And doesn't it also have something to do with the share of the reward pool? I think the price of STEEM is going to go back up as new features roll out, though. But who knows.

I think many of the whales are now inactive or using their SP as passive income, either through leasing or delegating to bidbots, or whatever. Doesn't seem like many are doing much in terms of manual curation or helping out the community.

"Also, I think you and I have now sufficiently established that we disagree on a couple of matters, and although I don't love arguing on the internet, I appreciate that your posts challenge my beliefs from time to time."

That's nine tenths of why I supported you. I get nothing out of being vigorously agreed with. Nobody grows from that. You're also just a fabulously talented writer, so even when I can't stand what you're saying, I love how you say it.

even when I can't stand what you're saying, I love how you say it

My thoughts exactly!

Do you have any other means of income besides Steemit? I have a day job because obviously this ain't paying the bills for me right now and I don't think anyone except for the mega-whales on here could afford to live in LA on this alone, but I also am a devoted side hustler. I tutor a couple times a week, which is good money, and sometimes I do copy editing. I'm not writing for any publications right now, but I used to. If you decide to get into tutoring, the most lucrative side of the market is working with college applications. $100/hour or more is standard in the private school circuit.

I have aspergers, which makes me unsuitable for most jobs judging by my long history of being fired without explanation a few days or weeks in. Performance metrics were good when I did tech support but I would freeze up during evaluations.

I haven't properly published any of my writing except on Amazon, where nobody knows it exists, so there's still the possibility of making it big as a writer. I am just very intimidated by the process of finding a publisher. Often they only accept submissions for a week or two out of the year, and it's tough to remember to submit during that window.

A friend of the family is very experienced with publishing however and is looking over my oeuvre now. Hopefully something lucrative comes of that.

Ah okay, that's hard. Among my few skills in life is being a people person (edit: maybe "few" is underselling myself...). An oddly anxious people person, but I've been told it's endearing. Somehow it's possible to have both social anxiety and also be very social. Not a great mix for my own sanity, actually.

Anyway, there are plenty of positions out there being a contributing writer for online publications, which are all work-from-home. I was referred to this post a few days ago: https://steemit.com/history/@energyaddict22/calling-all-writers-usd50-usd-for-original-articles

I haven't yet spoken to the person who authored the post, but I think you'd be really great at this. $50-$100 an article is about standard in my experience, so this is a bit on the low side, but maybe you could work out a deal where you're allowed to crosspost to your own blog as well (or maybe an abbreviated version which directs to the publication?) so you could further monetize your work. I was thinking of asking for that.

It's really thoughtful that you would keep your eyes open for opportunities and let me know about them like this.

Of course! I’ll let you know if I see anything else.

I also think alex, why SBD prices are so unreliable now. And I also put great hopes on Steemit. Do not stop posting @alexbeyman, your post is my daily food to just survive.

Life be like that sometimes.

But on the real though I honestly don't know how you could help yourself in this situation. Maybe you just need to continue publishing content and hope for the best(?).

Some time before I was surprised when you post something that is considered racist by someone who is superficial knowledge. Immediately I was afraid to comment, but then I tried to comment again and I thought, Alex has returned. Keep working alex, I promise to be a faithful reader of every work of yours.

It's pretty difficult on steemit, I use to sew your posts back then, now it's really tough, SBD and STEEM aren't helping matters either, I do believe there's a course for change as well.

Meanwhile, congratulations as well

I'm far far far from a whale. But I've added my upvote. I know the feeling - votes are hard to come by these days. I wonder if they'll come back.

Much appreciated. Shit looks dire right now but I won't believe the Steemit dream is over so soon.

I hope not. I'm just getting started! :)

congratulations to your my friend, it is not easy to reach that state on steemit. Your great work led you there. Once again congratulations my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98