Using Markdown and Hosting Your Dropbox Images

in #steemit6 years ago

I know there are probably lots of posts already about Markdown on steemit, but I just wanted to chip in my 2cents in case anyone else was wondering.


Centering

Markdown is very useful in steemit but a lot of its extra features can only be used on GitHub, such as using emojis. I'm not sure if there's any other way of using emojis on steemit but haven't found it yet. If anyone knows how, could you let me know! :)

One formatting issue I had was centering images & text. I looked on the official markdown github and @Mono for help but there wasn't any specific to that. The one I managed to find was pretty much simple and seemed pretty obvious. In case you didn't know it is:

< center>  link/text goes here  < /center >

Like This Text Here and image below


Art by Aleksi Briclot


Dropbox linking

Another issue I had was linking my images from Google drive & Dropbox. I went through a couple sites but they didn't seem to work as well as this one site I found very helpful Milanaryal and other techniques.
One trick to remember is when using dropbox share links is to replace it like this:

Example dropbox link path:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zttvenwbpz6kzgy/aleksi-09.jpg?dl=0 

Replace with file path:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/zttvenwbpz6kzgy/aleksi-09.jpg?dl=0 

So basically just replace:

www.dropbox.com

With

dl.dropboxusercontent.com

I haven't had any luck yet with getting Google Drive share link to work but if anyone else knows, please let me know!


Feel free to say hello or have a chat! Feedback & comments are welcome and love to network with all creative creatures of the known universe and beyond! Haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58