You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Views on 50/50 Split Curation/Author Rewards

in #steemit6 years ago

I don't get it. I tried to get it. I came really close to getting it for about 38 whole seconds the other day but didn't end up retaining any real understanding. I've kind of given up trying to "get" anything that goes on here because I know as soon as I grasp how something steemish works, it's going to be changed and I'll have to start over again.

Sort:  

I am with you. I don't get it

@allseeingewe & @marionbowes, what parts don't you get? I'll explain the best I can.

well you know me, touchy feely, so later..xx

hehe, no need to be touchy and feely, what I'm saying is:

Do you know what curation is?

Do you know what curation rewards are?

I thought it was a writing award. But hey maybe I don't really know at all. However, it will have to wait...At least till I have more head space.

Okay, I'm still gonna answer just incase anyone else needs to know.

Curation is when you vote on a post. You get Steem Power when that post you voted on pays out.

The amount of Steem Power you get paid depends on a couple things, but mostly it depends on how much Steem Power YOU have.

So, the bigger upvote you give, the bigger curation reward you get when the post you upvoted pays out.

*Now this is really actually underlining my point that I'm making in my post by having you, the Ewe and Jon all saying you don't understand. You guys don't understand because of what I'm saying in my post.

Your Steem Power is so small, even if you have hundreds of Steem Power, it's still not enough to even give you enough of a curation reward that you would NOTICE it even exists.

Right now the way things are set up is: You keep 75% of what your post is worth. Curators (upvoters) get the other 25%.

There are a bunch of users on this platform that say if curators got 50% of our posts, they would, for lack of a better word... "Curate Harder".

Does that make sense? Let me know if it doesn't and I can try to re explain.

gee. I curate my heart out. I was never really doing it for a reward, but rather for peeps knowing that I actually read their content. Which I do BTW. Sounds to me like the wall street of Steemit. I would rather get paid more for the awesome stuff I write, rather than upvoting all over town for more rewards. All that would happen is that we would all get more automatic upvotes rather than anyone reading our stuff. At the end of the day what is the point in putting out quality stuff as opposed to someone putting random shit and getting upvotes from strangers to make money. "Just Saying"

Totally helps! Thanks Lynds 💗 i actually thought it was how the rewards were divided up between sp & sbd! Thank-goodness for delegators, contests and posting i don't think i make much through curating anyways. I still try to both comment vote and curate vote but it's pretty complex out there!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88