are images worth all the effort ?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Mindlessly copied and pasted from G+ so all revenue declined but you're the folk that can answer this thorny question

@steevc You (and the majority of Steemit folk) appear to post an image on every single Steemit post. I can completely understand why you all do this. Plus every Blogging 101 Guide tells us visual eye candy is fantastic for driving traffic.

Posts with images stand out in my feed and by comparison, posts without (like mine) just look like boring text and are subconsciously ignored.

But, it's a lot of work. You have to search and identify a relevant image, check it's freely available, download it locally and then upload it to DropBox (or equivalent hosting) and then remember the pesky Markdown for an image reference.

That's a hell of a lot of work for someone as lazy as me and really detracts from the attractions of a quick, spontaneous post.

Or maybe that's the point, Steemit wants longer form, more considered articles - sorry stories.

Is it really worth it ?

PS. And, for a post like this, what's a suitable image ? It's a post about nothing.

Sort:  

I do think posts with pictures are more appealing. It's as you say, text posts get ignored more easily, so I'd say it's worth it.

It doesn't have to be much work. I just picked the header from my blog as an image for all of my just text posts. It's my own picture, so that makes it easy. I put both header and source text in a notepad file for easy/copy pasting :-)

That's an excellent idea - to use a default image/MD template for default 'blog' posts. Thanks.

Forgot to decline the revenue. Rest assured I will give the $0.01 to charity.

Looks accusingly at 'robotev1' and 'robotev2'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76