random thoughts about Steemit, G+, Mogadon et al

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I always had a slight sense of unease about Steemit. Something intangible, something I could not quite articulate, something I couldn't put my finger on.

Initially I thought it was to do with the payment model. Being paid for a review of 'Trainspotting 2'. If the product is free, then the product is you.

If you're actually being paid for your inane bytestream of drivel, then what does that mean ?

Then I thought ah it's OK - 'it's all about the community'. It takes a good deal of time to build a community and even longer to persuade your friends to join you on the latest social network (that isn't Twitter). Steemit shared a lot of characteristics with Google Plus, Twitter, identi.ca et al. Accept it.

So I dipped my toe in the water. I made $0.27 Steemit cent and was delighted,. At this rate, I'd be rich and could retire in October 2087. At last, a rightful and deserved reward for my quality writing.

Then I got bored at the slowdown on G+ and revisited GNU Social (Quitter.se) and then to Mastodon (I still fervently think they should have called it 'Mogadon'). Mogadon allowed me to follow all my Quitter friends - why it even provided an export/import facility. Which was nice.

Steemit doesn't allow any such inter-operability. AFAIK I can't talk to friends on Twitter, G+, identi.ca or Mogadon from Steemit. Yeah - it's Open Source so 'patches welcome' but given enough time and resources, I could add that functionality and also travel to Mars.

Steemit seems like a closed, proprietary platform - indistinguishable from Twitter to me.

Maybe I'm wrong. I normally am.

Sort:  

I understand. I understand the thought process, the "too good to be true" mindset. I don't claim to understand all the workings of Steemit, but I know I have invested only time, not much money. I know I am getting paid. This is good enough for me at the moment. Join us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77