You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Discord, or not to Discord

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

That's awesome @AidnesSanchez! Thank you for such a generous response! I'm really glad to hear your perspective and that you had a positive experience, despite being new.

I agree with your tips 100%, this is actually very useful stuff.

Also, totally agree with you about the podcasts and the radio shows. This is where I found my grounding when it came to Discord. I love listening to people have intellectual discussions and also make total goof-balls of themselves, it really puts a personality behind the avatars we see daily.

Sort:  

You feel like you're not really chatting to unknown people, you get to establish a cool dynamics over voice chat. And the part about goof-balls? Yes, I'm 100% on board with that because I sing (really badly) over a Podcast and I don't feel the least shamed by it, also make puns that would prompt people to throw me tomatoes, but that's a story for some other say.

Discord is an amazing tool but when you force people to the unknown, you have only two choices: them getting on board real fast, or running to the hills, never to be seen again. I'd like to think we can reduce the runaways by turning ourselves into messengers of possitive, into people that go the extra mile to make the experience amazing for others.

After all, Steemit is a platform that nourishes out of external resources such as Discord, Dtube and the like. We might as well make it work for the new ones!

-A.

Definitely, helping new people navigate steemit and find their community is actually benefiting all of us in the long run. What servers do you usually go to?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43