My First Month on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey Steem people! So I've had my first month on the steemit platform and I'm happy with what I've learned so far. I do have some questions and concerns though, and I'm making this post to hopefully have some of them answered or addressed.

When I first signed up I also joined a number of facebook groups related to the platform. These groups don't seem to address any of the development and progress of the network but rather just promote like-4-like content promotions. So on to my first question...

Should I be participating in these like-4-like systems or should I only be upvoting content I find valuable?

My second question would be,

Is reddit the best place to learn more about the steemit platform itself (development) or is their a better place

My last question is,

Should I aim to gain more steem power or SBD? How does reputation play into this, and how do I grow my reputation?

I know many answers to these questions can be found here on steemit, but I've found a variety of answers. Hoping the comments in this post help me find the real answers

Cheers,

Anthony

Sort:  

Welcome Anthony.

Hey fellow wino! Keep up the awesome posts, I love that we are both travel/wine junkies! Followed :P

Thanks! I'm very happy to see more winos on here

So glad you have been enjoying your time on steemit! You pose some good questions and ones that I will try to answer.

  1. It really is up to you, but I like voting on content I like. I havn't participated in that stuff, I don't like it, seems cheap. Do I chastize peeople who do, no, it's their choice, but I won't be following them that's for sure.
  2. There are a couple places to get steemit development some of the creators @ned or witnesses have good updates @heimindanger is great for updates on dtube.
  3. I like the 50/50 rewards, but generally go for more steem power. SBD is suppose to be $1.00, but for reasons that I can't completly understand it broke that peg and rose to the price it is now. I think it will return to $1.00 sooner or later. Steem was suppose to be the token to rise and value and be speculated on and steem power increases the power of your vote. More steem power means the more your gives every upvote. Also reputation is based essentially on how much you have been rewarded on the platform.

thanks, the first answer was pretty consistent with my own practice so far. I've just seen so many crapy accounts rise in pwer and reputation and I'm wondering what they know that I don't.

Right now, doing 100% power up is a silly thing to do by the way. As long as the market price of SBD is > 1 USD, it's /always/ better to get SBD and swap it for STEEM in the internal market (it's better than blockchain internal conversions).

Even when SBD is < 1 USD, I would still use 50/50, and use the internal "convert" mechanism (which by the way is currently disabled in the steemit website due to people not understanding they are losing by using this right now).

Do you upvote?

well I've only been upvoting stuff I like, but seeing others who are doing very well upvoting anything. Is their a strategy i should be using?

I just followed you. lol If you hadn't upvoted I wouldn't.

Thanks again. Do you want more subscribers?

Should I be participating in these like-4-like systems or should I only be upvoting content I find valuable?

I find that I prefer communities that interact more actively than just vote systems. For instance, if you know discord there's lots of nice communities for that, especially: The Steem Engine, feel free to check it out.

Should I aim to gain more steem power or SBD? How does reputation play into this, and how do I grow my reputation?

If you're in it for the long haul, STEEM POWER is better, because that increases your influence as well as assists in the payouts of your own posts. And if you believe in the platform, that STEEM's price will grow, you want to accumulate more of that as well. You should work with the assumption that SBD will eventually be worth around 1 USD though if STEEM continues to grow. The higher the STEEM price is, the larger the payouts become / more SBD given out.

Reputation is all cosmetics, really. You gain reputation by getting upvotes from other people with high reputation. I hardly pay attention to this number, though it does correlate with influence. Each rep level takes much more effort to get than the last as well.

Thanks! that's very helpful

Congratulations @anthonyandwine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75