You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ping Ping Alert Alert New Message Check This Bling Blong Something Is Happening Look Here Now Here What Next BEEP BEEP

in #steemit5 years ago

I typically turn off almost all notifications or at least mute them, so I can see a notification but it doesn't make a sound.

This is also why I haven't installed FB or Facebook-messenger apps on my phone, as I have very limited interest in getting any extra notifications. Some games I played for fun had notifications "*** is now ready!" so I deleted the game.

I want to make sure people can reach me easily, but in the name of hell I don't want any extra distractions and sounds in my life.

Sort:  

have FB messenger but I know that only my sister uses it to reach me, and that is not more than once a week maybe.

I have deleted or manually disabled all notifications that are not completely necessary. Phonecalls, text messages and WhatsApp messages are the only ones that show up somehow.

I don't even have a microwave because I hate the BLING it makes when the food is warm.

Minulla on vedenkeitin joka on muuten todella hyvä, mutta se piippaa aina kun sen käynnistää, aina kun se on valmis SEKÄ kun sen kannun laskee alustalle. Eli yleensä tulee neljä piippausta :D
Täytä kannu vedellä ja laske alas -> PIIP
Laita vedenkeitin päälle -> PIIP
Vesi on valmis -> PIIP
Nosta kannu, kaada kuppiin vettä ja laske se takaisin alustalle -> PIIP

Ainut tilanne jossa tuo on hyödyksi on se, kun tuota voi säätää 60/70/80/90 asteeseen myös, jolloin piippauksesta tietää milloin se on saavuttanut oikean lämmön kun kiehumista ei missään välissä kuulu.

Muuten meinaa vähän mennä yli. PIIP PIIP

Ahhh, tiedän kyseisen mallin, meillä oli joskus töissä semmonen! En ikinä vois ottaa kotiin, koska käytän vedenkeitintä n. 10 kertaa päivässä niin sehän ois ihan ainaista piipitystä, menis heeeemot!

Beep beep, motherfucker.

I have a Cuisinart that sounds very similar. To be honest, I like the beeps. I get into stuff on the net while I'm waiting and if not for the beep notices I'd forget I put it on and wonder, half an hour later, "... why I haven't I made coffee yet?!" Lol (and ya, I always use the different temps... so no boil sound to remind you. Gotta' take the beeps. 🤷‍♀️)

This is the only acceptable source of beeps in my point of view:
image.png

Did you use google translate or do you understand Finnish on a good level? :D

Oh no. Google.
I'm used to seeing Chinese or Russian and hitting translate by reflex. I realized after I posted, maybe you went Finnish for a reason, and I shouldn't have.
I hope I didn't offend you or Eve.

Well to be honest, the main reason was because I didn't remember the word for "vedenkeitin" and could only think of "water cooker" which sounded too stupid to be true, so I switched to Finnish because it's faster and easier.

Also it makes people think I'm discussing something in secret.

If it's public, it's alright to google translate, don't worry. @Apsu just didn't know how to piip piip (beep beep) in English.

Whew! Thank you.
Wasn't trying to be creepy or anything.
With Chrome browser, if I see anything not in English, I just hit 'right click' translate by reflex. It turns the whole page to English. Very handy for contracts, instructions or manuals. Never really thought about it socially before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85