You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DownVote Abuse | This has to STOP Now

in #steemit6 years ago

I have just been fighting the same battle, on behalf of someone I just happened upon. He had a nice post about farming on a small scale, which is very useful (most of Africa farms on a small scale).

His post was greyed out because of low interest.

Anyway, I did not know I can find out who did it to him, so I went looking for someone more experienced. I found such a person and put forward the argument that when this is done, it is also a form of censorship.

He strongly protested my argument, saying it is only hiding the post, not censoring it!! I said I should then inform Assange (many want to convince him to leave Twitter and come here because he is angry about being blocked there). I also said that FBook, YouTube and Google both use the same technique for censoring those they do not support politically, making it difficult for them to be found...you have to be very insistent to get to what you are looking for.

I also strongly feel that this is a form of bullying - the strong can do it to the weaker, but the weaker have no recourse and nowhere they can go to demand that some sort of Admin check the posts and decide. I feel that if someone flags (downvotes) without reason, then the downvotes should be reversed at double the amount of votes and money stolen.

Then people will think twise before doing it and maybe I won't mind have some idiot flag me a few times, I'd love it that justice is being served by him having to compensate me with double what he took.

I understand the top boys are worried about spam, but you do not prevent one evil by licensing another.

Sort:  

I strongly agree with you, I mean Steemit admin should look into these downvotes of flags and if they are not used at the right place, then that particular person should be charged for that.

Not charged, in the sense of a fine. ALL that is taken should be in multiples of what they stole and for the damage they caused the other person (the victim).

Btw, I though money in my account cannot be taken from me, that my password must be known. How then do they take (confiscate) for compensating the victim?

Hmm, you do realise you have more points (rep) tham me, so you can wipe me out?

If you decide to go after everyone who has less than you, at which stage would the Admins decide this is criminal bullying and theft of money and reputation? It must be a great comfort to hem that bad people cannot do this to them.

Well right at the start if someone flag or downvote someone, Steemit should have an admin for it to see for the post that is downvoted or flagged. Then they may decide what to do then

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93