You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't ask for upvotes. Do these instead…

in #steemit6 years ago

Read your article plus the many answers in the comments section (most of them) and I have a point of view that differs from yours.

My main interest is not Steemit; my interest is in people. I see some terrible first posts and I open them to read. If I get a feeling that the poster is talented, (I'm a sucker for talents) I am happy to spend time on them, helping them to become better posters than me. Here is where I differ from you and many of the other good members - If the poster does not touch me and I see no effort made, I shut their post with either no comment, or a rather curt one, telling them what they are doing wrong and warning them that there are those who love flagging such posts.

So, here is what I am doing, as I do not find it easy to scroll back to older pages, they tend to 'stick'.

I have bookmarked your post, so every time I need it, it is instantly available. Maybe I'll also give the link to a few of the ones I don't treat as nicely.

.

So, a question. Do you find it right for a poster to keep asking, in his or her every post to the visitor to upvote and to follow and resteem? Should such reactions not be from the visitor, because he/she/ finds your post exciting/worthy/interesting/funny or whatever?

It is like a person asking their loved one, "Do you love me?" Is their positive answer worth as much as their unasked for "I love you."?

Still, I never ask and even say I am only interested in having readers - so I'm slowing down, not doing so well...

...should I frown?
:(

...should I start adding little gifs pointing out that they should....?

Sort:  

A point of view that differs from mine ? Great !!! Thank you for bring another perspective to the conversation .

My main interest is not Steemit; my interest is in people.

I would agree on that.

Here is where I differ from you and many of the other good members - If the poster does not touch me and I see no effort made, I shut their post with either no comment, or a rather curt one, telling them what they are doing wrong and warning them that there are those who love flagging such posts.

Many posters do that ( including me ) , but probably less often than others.

So, a question. Do you find it right for a poster to keep asking, in his or her every post to the visitor to upvote and to follow and resteem? Should such reactions not be from the visitor, because he/she/ finds your post exciting/worthy/interesting/funny or whatever?

That is an interesting question. These gifs you see are called Call To Action (CTA) and it is the action we want the reader to take after he/she finishes the article. Conventional blogging wishdom that cames from research says that if you don't tell the other person what do to, it is possible that it will do nothing.
If you have any research that says any different I will take it into consideration.

And last about the asked "I love you". Some people brains are hard-wired in a way that it is important to them to be reassured of the love of the other person or they need to listen to it. Don't be harsh them , it's their neurology that's speaking. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68737.86
ETH 3840.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62