You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Want to be a Sellout and a Few Other Things I Find Somewhat Humorous About This Place

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

"So why should I complain about being right!?"

I am a chronic pessimist so, for me, being right usually sucks lol.

This was a really thought out discussion of the issue and I like your suggested solution.

I made a similar point about trending being the face that we present to the world the other day. I see a lot of people say "well I just don't look at trending" and I fall into that category too. That is all well and good on a personal level but trending is still the first thing a prospective user sees. It doesn't necessarily drive established bloggers away. If one has been here a while, he or she has a feed and some tags that he or she checks and stuff but someone who thinks "I wonder what this steemit thing is all about" and drops by might decide to pass because he or she sees nothing of interest in the trending tab.

Sort:  

I don't really know what to say anymore. Every comment here basically states the same thing. Nobody looks at the page. The damage has been done. I suppose it's irreversible now, and I should probably just shush. I'm an established blogger here though and it is disheartening to know in advance my work won't go very far now. I already know in advance, me buying a vote won't suddenly make all of those larger stakeholders take an interest in my work. And I also know, if I pay to reach the trending page, I'll receive a disingenuous response from people who don't care about my work, they just want my attention so they can get a vote and follow. Plus I've seen how art and humor gets treated there and I'd just end up with flags. Fuck it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83