help a steemain. where to start when your new. my personal experience

in #steemit6 years ago

where to start on steemit when you have no clue what to do.

fdddd.jpg

I have had some comments from new steemians that I would like to address to all as i think it would be beneficial to post about it.
It has probably been covered 100's of times in other peoples blogs but I would also like to help so this is my take on where to start on steemit when you first join.

So steemit gives you a start by starting everyone on a reputation score of 25, the better the reputation score I believe the more views and upvotes you get for your post.
The problem some face is they start at reputation 25 and this is a disadvantage because posts get over looked.

When I first joined steemit I had questions, where do I start, well now after been on this platform for 10 months I have got a little clue what to do, and if I knew this when I first started I would have probably done better at the beginning of my journey.

Introduce yourself
I made $5.00 on my first post which was in #introduceyourself, I was happy that it made some money to be honest, my written english isn't brilliant even though I am an english person.
I write this over a day and put a little thought into what i wanted to say.
I also added a picture of myself so the steemit world would know who i was and who was writing the post.

mistake I made
I then started just writing crap, it was in the start, I started blogging about vaping and other things I don't think that anybody wanted to read about.

what I did next
I looked through steemit and decided to have a plan, how to get someone to see my posts.
I thought long and hard, we had a page view counter back then so we knew how many people were looking at our pages.
I then new things had to change, I made the call that I needed to get some views on my post and started entering into contests that I knew that i was good at.
My drawing posts got me a $60 dollar upvote and this was when my reputation score went up, I knew that people would follow the contest if they entered it themselves. this then gave me confidence that there was people out there that like my art work.
Followers slowly crept up, my reputation score went up too.

what else had an impact on my journey?

I also followed the great @starkerz, he at the time was doing a steemit tour around the UK universities and was coming to one near me.
I had to meet some one else from steemit as I knew nobody, would this help my blog? would this help me?
well yes it did, at the time when I joined up with @starkerz I met another guy, my Chinese friend @tumutanzi. both of them talked to me about the blockchain, they talked to me about improving my blog. and one thing @tumutanzi said to me was that he liked my posts about myself. he said he liked to read about my life and what I got upto.
@starkerz also told me the importance of keeping my steem power in my account, he also told me to power up as much as possible as it will be worth more in the future.

With meeting these two great people, I came away from the promo we were doing, with a different outlook on steemit, there is real people behind these blogs, people who want to know me, people who like my art work, there is also people who come to steemit with no interest of art and that is something that I have to accept.

You too can introduce new people to steemit, all you have to do is tell someone new about it and blog about it, add a picture of who you have brought to the platform and add the #promo-steem tag and you have already done your bit, there is a massive amount of people doing this everyday and blogging about it. and they are making alot of up-votes by doing so.
This is one guy this year I introduced to steemit
30421920_10156460515654455_1038227871_n.jpg

I am now on a journey, My journey really has only just begun. I have now set up contests to help the smaller steemains than myself in the hope that more people will come to the blockchain, more people will invest and more people will stay here with us.

You have to remember one thing while here on steemit, you have to work hard to make upvotes. it is all about quality not quantity.

i hope this helps you guys who have asked.

I am @artonmysleeve and this is my help a steemian blog.

I have a contest that you can join if you like here
https://steemit.com/contest/@artonmysleeve/artclub-contest-enter-for-the-chance-for-4-sbd-theme-happiness

There is 4sbd up for grabs

@deemarshall has contests going everyday. todays contest is here

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/artstorm-contest-27-day-3-theme-today-my-country-s-national-flowers

Please follow and upvote to carry on seeing my posts.

I hope this helped some of you.

Sharing is caring :)

Sort:  

Yes, because your life is unique than others. It is funny reading your posts. Thank you.

cheers tan. :D
Everyday there is a story to tell, you know me too well, haha

Thankfuly there are people like you or in my case @takeru255 who trust in others and help newcommers to have a direction and porpuse.

Thanks to the help from his community my rep raised like a rocket and I'm getting real expousure now.

More people like you guys Is what this plataform needs thanks sooo much for all the efforts you have put into your journey.

Well It makes me more than happy to help my friends to find their way up, and you are almost there so keep it up!

Cheers and Steem on!

Nice of you to say so, @takeru255 seems like a nice guy, he is always thinking about others first, i give him credit for that.
I'm going to pop over to your blog and see what your on with :D

I hope you don't mind is all in spanish :D

I use chrome and it gives me an option to translate to english. even though i did spanish at school the only word i remember now is amego. haha. i upvoted for you too :)

Good one @artonmysleeve
Steemit can be really frustrating, i should say I'm even in that mood of frustration at the moment.
I would check out the contest, thanks for it

It can be difficult at first, I am a big believer in contests at the moment, there is so many to choose from that there is something for everyone. I will pop over and check your blog out. :D

I had it hard to start too, my post used to have 100 views (when we used to have the view counter) but no replys ... (its not like I'm really popular these days Lol.) but I made some friends and started a community to help each other find our ways, Fortunately the got in 1 month what it took me almost 6 ... and 6 months having the 27 SP delegation we used to have back then, So ... I'm really happy with all that we all have archive. :D

Read you arround buddy! ;)

post 4 times a day buddy the whales will come to you if you are regular and consistent. 27sp is very low power so if you power up as much as you can you will get higher rewards. I have been working on my blog for 10 months, I had a months break from it over xmas as I was not getting any upvotes. it happens to all of us, including the top guys on this platform.
there is good days and bad for all.

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85