Steemit Is there Such A Thing as Resteeming TOO MUCHsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Steemit Is there Such A Thing as Resteeming TOO MUCH????

Untitled design.png

As a minnow/newbie here on steemit there is one thing I have noticed, Resteeming other posts. Now I mean those who are Resteeming every single post and are not curating even one post of their own. It does get quite difficult to connect with that person. You cannot learn about that person, their interests, or even what they are doing here especially if their resteems are all over the board. All you see is Resteems over and over. Honestly, it irritates the crap out of me because, 99% of us are here to connect, grow, and learn about new people while the 1% are here to resteem everything without curating their own posts.

Why Are You Here?

If I know anything about any platform is that your followers are looking for YOU not the countless reposts/resteems of others posts. (Yes, there is a time and place for that and I'll explain in a bit!)Your followers what to get to know you, who are you, where do you come from, why are you here, what are you looking for, and what are you bringing with you as you join our little community. Those are just a few of the questions you should be asking yourself before you start posting in general.

Getting to Know the Person Behind the Posts

For example: I am a writer and marketer. I love to write short stories, poems, and novels. But, I also, love to get down and dirty with some marketing techniques and how to grow a business successfully within a specific time frame. On the side, I am a wife and blogger. Two things I am addicted too, oil painting and my animals. Now, I could easily write about all of it but, every single day writing about my life and how it pretty much does not change from day to day is going to be zzzz land (BORING!). Thus, why I like to mix it up, writing, marketing, and inspirational tips. I keep it pretty much on topic, although, I'll admit sometimes I do like to stray a big off key and go a little crazy just for my followers.

If ALL you do is Resteem there is No Purpose

Now, those who resteem everything gives us no way to know these things. We look at those profiles as if they have little meaning or purpose because, they don't really have a purpose. The profiler/user doesn't tell us much about themselves or what they are doing. Remember, we are spiritual beings having a human experience and our instincts are to connect with other people. The only way we can connect with other people is to learn about that person, see what we have in common, if we have anything in common, and build a relationship.

Time and Place for Everything

I know resteeming is necessary and there is a time and place for it. Personally, I prefer to write 2 to 6 posts then, resteem a couple 1-2 posts I really connect with. This gives my followers the chance to get to know me and what posts I like the most. It really is about finding a balance between posting and resteeming that helps your blog look as if it is personalized without a lot of resteems every post.

Keep In Mind

I am no expert, just a minnow learning fast on what it takes to make it in the Steemit community. Some things I say may be controversial and spark with some of you while others may agree. Remember, this is my opinion and should not be taken personally. It is not meant to be argued but, there to pose a new look on how to resteem posts on Steemit.

Follow @AshleyOnline for more awesome posts


UPVOTE FOLLOW RESTEEM UPVOTE

Sort:  

Does resteeming gain you any sort of benefit sorry newbie?

@xxjackintheboxx hey same here we are both minnows/newbies. I started just a couple weeks ago. As far as I can see resteeming helps the community and yourself. So, you want to resteem but, not too often. My personal thoughts on this is this.... Resteem every 3-6 posts, Upvote as much as you can... and Comment all the time. Be active, support others, and everyone sees the rewards.

@ashleyonline Yup that's what i am trying my best to do, but what i was asking is what is the benefit of resteeming? do you get some of the profits from the post or something, i have only resteemed like 2 things that is why i asked.

I believe you do, but don't quote me on that. I'm still fairly new. I am still learning most of the time. But, I'll try and see if I can find the correct information and let you know. @xxjackintheboxx

Thank you!! ^^ Would be greatly appreciated!

@xxjackintheboxx I have found that you make little to no money with resteems they only help add to the community. I wrote a new post on what to do next when you get your email from steemit letting you know you are in. You can find this post here: https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@ashleyonline/steemit-minnow-support-what-do-i-do-now-that-my-account-is-active-on-steemit

It might help answer a few questions even I had to go searching for in the beginning.

I tend tor resteem posts I really like or that could be an opportunity for other people, such as contests. I can see where you are coming from though. Sometimes I check out user pages to see what content I may like but everything is resteemed so I can't really give back if there is no original content.

Exactly. It can be frustrating when you are trying to connect with someone and they do not really have content. I will resteem anything I truly believe in or is useful to others. But, I try not to go overboard since after all I would prefer to connect with others instead of sharing too much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55