5 Irreversible Actions On Steemit You Should Be Careful About

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

C0zx0kcUUAAZL_v.jpg

If you have been on Steemit for quite a while, you probably know that some things on this platform are unchangeable or rather uneditable once you perform a particular action.

While most of us are aware of them, there are still a lot of newbies signing in everyday who obviously wouldn't have a clue unless they have been told beforehand by an active Steemian.

For the purpose of educating the newcomers about the same, I have made this (small?) list of actions that are irreversible once executed and must be carefully paid attention to before posting anything.

If you think I missed something or that something more could be included, I'll be more than glad if you could mention it in the comments. Okay enough talk now, let's get started.

An Article Once Posted Can't Be Deleted

shutterstock_406413301-800x533.jpg

Source

Let's start with the basics. Once a post is made, that is, an article has been published on your blog, it can't be deleted or erased unless it's not interacted with by any means.

What that basically means is, you can't delete your article if it's upvoted/downvoted/resteemed or made any other kind of contact with even if it's your own. I first discovered this when I accidentally clicked on 'Post' instead of 'Clear'.

Once you click that 'Post' button and your article is engaged, it's engraved on the website. It can't be removed whatsoever. You simply can't make it vanish. What you can do, however, is delete all of the content inside the article by clicking the 'Edit' button, leaving a blank white nothing on your blog.

Now this obviously doesn't look pretty at all but hey, at least you don't have an awkward uncompleted article floating on your channel. Remember, a blank article is always better than an accidentally-posted one.

The First Tag Of Your Post Can't Be Edited

pexels-photo-1111319.jpeg

While we are on the subject of editing, you will eventually come to realize that the first tag of your article cannot be edited unlike the rest four. I'm still not quite sure why this happens, but it does.

One situation where it can really be a problem is when you post an article focused on a certain topic, but then you change your mind for some reason and wish to write something completely different.

You can easily edit the content of your article, its title, and the four tags coming after the first one. But you can't change the first tag itself. Just like your article is engraved on the website, your first tag is engraved on your article.

The URL Of Your Post Can't Be Edited

Same thing here. The URL or the web address of your article which is generated using the title of that very article itself, cannot be edited or altered even after you edit the title.

At first it might not seem like a big deal, or something you wouldn't want to bother yourself about, but once you make a silly mistake of writing something you didn't meant to, or auto-corrects jumps in to ruin your day, the regret is major.

For example, I wrote an article titled:
Cliché Topics Almost Everyone Writes About

But then I edited the title and changed it to:
3 Most Cliché Topics Almost Everyone Writes About

Even after I changed the title, the URL is still the same:
https://steemit.com/writing/@ayushjalan/cliche-topics-almost-everyone-writes-about

See what I mean? It's even worse when you accidentally typed a wrong letter and now you permanently have "Barking Soda" in your URL instead of "Baking Soda" and people start to wonder why is your article tagged food when it clearly leans move towards humor.

You Can't Delete Your Comment Once It's Interacted With

shutterstock_552132568.jpg

Source

Yup. Just like your articles, you can't delete your comment either. Once it's interacted with by another person, it can't disappear simply because now it's a part of the community, that is, other people are engaged with that particular comment of yours.

'Interacted with' obviously includes upvoted/downvoted or replied to. But again, even though you can't delete it, you can still edit it and change the content inside of it. So let's say if you made a grammar mistake, you can easily correct it.

You Can't Remove A Resteemed Article From Your Blog

mzl-bafsbcml.png

This is the one that I hate personally. You can't remove a resteemed article from your blog. Now just to be clear, resteem is obviously a very good feature if you want your followers to see and appreciate someone else's quality content that you found. I absolutely support the idea.

But what annoys me the most is when I accidentally resteem someone's article that I clearly didn't intent to, and now I not only have to bear with a completely random unrelated article on my blog, but also the frustration of indirectly giving credit to someone I didn't plan to.

Thumbnail Source

av4tt0mlsg.png

If you liked this article or found it useful, you might also like:

Continue reading:


Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

I have come across most of these cases myself. Although frustrating, I do understand some of them such as the first tag and the URL. I usually edit in notepad first to avoid the worst of it. I'm particularly careful with tags and titles. I haven't mistakenly posted yet, but I've mistakenly re-steemed.
I guess if I post by accident, I'll edit it to a funny joke, a BTC price update, the local weather and maybe a random pic...so much trash posts these days, doing this will probably be an average post.

That could be a good way to not make it look completely useless haha. I don't usually have those kind of accidents but for the one time that I did, I used a short funny gif to water down the embarrassment lol

Wah bahut Accha post likha hai aapne

Great tips you are sharing here. At one point in.our steemit career, you come across on of these issues. By warning people, you can save them a lot of trouble.
Very well done!

@simplymike

Always happy to help :)

I've already experienced everything mentioned though I'm still a newbie. I started on June 23. There's one blog actually that's empty. I was meant to delete it but I can't seem to find any option to do that so what I did was, I just deleted the contents and everything and I just wrote "Deleted" in the title and body. It's good that I did that earlier because I've also noticed that after 7 days, all you can do with your blog is to respond to comments. You can no longer edit them after a week.

Yup. A 7-day window is all you get to edit your articles and your comments. It's almost impossible to edit them afterwards. I say 'almost' because I've seen some people successfully edit even 30 day old posts!

Yup. But I haven't seen yet someone edited a post that's 30-days old. I'm writing a blog for newbies from my experience and I am including this blog of yours. I hope you you can upvote it after I am done today. I'll also be mentioning you there of course and others. @rbc.boy

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll make sure to check it out :)

yes this is the truth..
All new members should know about this things...

Thank you for this valuable information. Upvoted and following!

Glad I could help. And thanks for the follow too! Much appreciated :)

Don't forget that even if you edit/delete a post/comment, it will still appear in the blockchain (you can see the edits!).

Thanks for adding that!

Very helpful info, most of these I had to learn by mistake, I wasn't aware about the first tag rule, though, I think these "irreversible actions" are a good thing in some aspects, for example, in a plagiarism dispute the original/older post is as good as copyright....

Exactly. Even if your account gets hacked, your articles are still a proof of who is the real owner.

This unfortunately is not completely true. Recently the Steemit team decided to make it possible to edit posts that are older than 7 days. If you use the eSteem app, it is already possible.

Of course if you track the history of the post, it is possible to find the original post content. It takes more effort though.

Great article. The reason why your first tag can't be changed is because it also becomes the category your post falls into. That tag becomes a part of your post's permalink.

Makes a lot of sense. Thanks for adding that :)

A good list of things that are indeed not reversible, with the exception of the post deletion, you can delete a post so long as there is no upvotes or comments on it, much like the comments deletable until there is interaction from the community :D

Oh, I didn't know that. Thank you for adding that information :)

Thanks glad I could add some value to your awesome post :D

Would it be too much to ask you to adjust your post with this new information?

Thank you for reminding me. It has been edited :)

It is almost correct. If "isn't" is changed to "is" it will be correct.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73