Curation is the most important thing and least rewarded thing on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

CurateC.png

After spending quite a bit of time curating content I have made a few discoveries that can help content creators and content curators exist together in a more symbiotic way. I have decided to make a list for content creators and one for content curators and hope they will provide a good guide for both to interact in a way that benefits both.

Content Creators list of things to do

  1. Always respond to legitimate comments
  2. Always reward comments that show curators have taken the time to read or look at your post
  3. Ignore posts from spam bots

Content Curators list of things to do

  1. Always read the article and make a legitimate comment
  2. Always try and vote for original creations and avoid people that just copy and paste from youtube, etc
  3. Look for new people by delving deeper down the hot list and new posts to discover more
  4. Use the search feature to find current content by date

Its important as a content creator to reward those who take the time to comment on your post and help to provide you with more visibility. We want to encourage more interaction so rewarding people with a decent comment reward incentives this even more. You want people to continue to upvote and interact in the comment section so reward those that help you the most and you will continue to get rewarded even more long term.

I have really gained more insight from spending so much time looking at and voting for many others content. It kind of feels like you are looking out for others and not yourself but that is very short sighted. I have managed to get my self votes down to under 13% and want to try and maintain a level at around 1% to 3%

Your best bet as a curator is to find those people that produce good content and at the same time reward nicely for good comments. Things work better when we help those who help us provided the quality of the content remains an important concern.

Sort:  

Great post! The rule about avoiding copy/pasting is one of the most important to me... I hate it to read a good looking post, do write a nice comment and after you post the comment you suddenly see our beloved cheetah commenting on the same post... Dang... It happens so much... I love to browse the "new" posts, trying to find some new Steemit-talents. There are many great writers out here who's posts are overlooked many times... Rewarding them with a 100% upvote feels so good to me. Remember, most of the whales where a minow once...

This is why manual curation is so important, it helps us to discover and remember those who copy and paste without regards to original content. You are exactly right, we all have to start somewhere and the more we can interact and help one another the better.

If all kept to your ideas this place would flourish. I partly agree, maybe too idealistic. people are hard pressed for time, I see no reason not to auto-upvote people you know will deliver ;)

It is very time consuming to manually curate but once you determine that they produce consistent good content then automatic curation is in order. I agree with you about it being too idealistic, but maybe people can do a few of the things on the list to help make Steemit a better place.

As a minnow , I really appreciate a post like this for it inspires , encourages and has given me creative energy to continue on. Thank you !

From what I can see from your page it looks like you live in a nice location. I think you just need to learn a little more about photography and you could be doing even better on Steemit.

These are some great thoughts. I came to this conclusion myself when wading through the inundation of copied and pasted posts and incorrectly categorized introduction posts. I don't take my $0.03 upvote for granted. It takes such a long time to find quality content worthy of my time.

So I'm glad I found this post, because it serves two purposes. Commenting and up voting a relevant and well-thought out post, and enacting the very thing that you've advocated.

Here's to better curation rewards in the future! Thanks for sharing.

I appreciate the upvote even if its only worth .03 it shows your commitment to finding content that is beneficial to everyone on Steemit. Here is to Steemit being run by more curators that vote for content that represents the best examples of original content.

What we do is browse under "NEW" and topic "Travel" because travel is our own focus for our page. Trying to find real people and not just copycats or bots or one picture per post bloggers by browing there and looking at each posts.
Yeah we do sometimes copy / paste our comments...but only the end part to engage with people. The first sentences from us are always legitimite comments regarding the article.

Its a difficult process, but you seem to have found over 1000 people to follow. It would be difficult for me to follow that many people so I imagine that keeps you very busy.

Reading blogs and replying to all comments is not a big problem. The problem is that we can't upvote a lot of posts...only liek 10-20 per day. We would love to upvote all the comments we receive.

I understand, once you get to around 500 steem power you will get a slider that will allow you to choose what percentage of vote power you want to use. This greatly helps with rewarding comments with smaller amounts.

Ah nice to know thats with 500 SP. We thought its by 1k. So, not so far anymore for this :)

I to try to writing good commentary, but my English is not to good, and then I write less then more. But every day I learn. It is very good post @azfix, thanks.

Your English is fine, I am sure everyone would understand what you are trying to say even if its not perfect.

thanks :))

Great advice we need to remember as creators and curators! Than k you!

You are very welcome, glad you enjoyed the info

great article, resteem it for self reminder ...

Thanks for the resteem, glad you liked it

I am checking new posts all the time, but most are trash or just don't interest me...
So I suggest to search by tag and then sorting by "new"

Thanks, I was wondering how to do that

I use the tag option as well sometimes in my search and even then you can still find quite a bit of trash. If you are a content creator its also a good idea to check to see if people that comment are voting for your posts.

I will curate your ass.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69516.92
ETH 3835.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72