You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10,000 Minnows and Beyond: Looking for QUALITY Content? How About SINCERE Content!

in #steemit5 years ago

Thanks for this post. I've been seeing and hearing all this talk about quality content. What actually is considered quality content? Like you said this is a social platform. All that talk will turn people off from this platform. If they feel hey I'm not that interesting or I can't make post with numerous paragraphs. "Why should I bother to post?" I'm also noticing some of these accounts with a large amount of followers and not following near half that amount back. Also post with plenty of upvotes and money, that don't reciprocate those earnings to the people in the comments. After if I'm not mistaken, it's free to upvote right. Anyhow sorry for my rant.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@babarakas43, "Quality content" is — to my way of thinking — an overused cliché people like to bring out when they don't feel good about truthfully saying that they despise "shitposts."

Honestly? Quality content only matters if you're putting together a magazine for a discerning audience. We can even tighten that noose a bit further and say that it only matters if you're putting together a literary magazine.

This is social media. Within that frame of reference, there's still "sincere" and not-so-sincere. A sincere post can be just a photo and "this is my all-time favorite photo of my dog/garden/kid" and we're done. In IN-sincere approach might be to randomly pepper your feed with arbitrary memes, in hopes that one or more catches an upvote above the dust level.

There's the primary difference, for me: Sincerity means you actually want to create something (and get rewarded), rather than simply seeing this as a glorified ATM that dispenses a few cents if prompted in a right way.

I don't follow anywhere near as many people as follow me. Further to that, I only follow people who create something I find interesting and worthwhile. On the flipside, 80+% of the people who follow me are only doing so in hopes that I'll go vote for their posts... they don't care one tiny bit what's in my posts.

Hey thanks for the sincere response. I definitely agree with you. Hopefully as the platform grows, some changes will be made. Until then we all post what we feel and let the chips fall were they no. No pressure to post the so called Quality content. I also agree with your point about the followers just following for personal gains.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80