My one year Steemit anniversary

in #steemit6 years ago

PicsArt_06-15-10.01.01.jpg

I remember a year ago.

A year ago I was at crisis point in my life. We lived in a house I loathed in so many ways, estranged from my family, just found out my daughter has scoliosis, I had broken my engagement ring and my relationship was on the rocks.

This time last year was a huge steaming pile of wtfs.

Even registering to Steemit wasn't easy but I remember getting on here to escape, maybe even start over again.

The first time I blogged was in 2000. I was pregnant with my daughter, quit my job in the city and was brushing up on my web design. I was using Dreamweaver to create my content before I found Moveable Type in 2001 and eventually moved to a much easier to use WordPress.

And although I have occasionally used my WordPress accounts in the years that followed, it wasn't until I joined Steemit that I truly began to write again.

There are things I go through. I have demons, lots of them, that I battle with every day. Writing/venting has always been my way of releasing and a way to express my thoughts and share my self. So in a lot of ways blogging, for me, is therapy.

At the time I needed it the most Steemit came into my life and I remember my first few blogs reflecting the misery I felt at that moment. As depressing as they were I was surprised, amazed and thankful that people stopped by to comment and say a kind word.

That's when I fell in love with Steemit.

Everywhere I looked on Steemit I saw wide open hearts and enthusiasm for this amazing platform. I couldnt help but be swept up feeling like I have found a home here.

I came to learn about crypto but I ended up learning about myself.

It's true. The Steemit bait for me was the crypto aspect. Like many others who could have bought Bitcoin when it was dirt cheap, I had major regrets. And when I was told there's more to crypto than Bitcoin, I wanted to know more.

Little did I know this new adventure would soon become a huge part of me and my life.

On Steemit I feel like I belong. Like I have a place in this world where I can express myself, be understood and have beautiful people around me that I have come to consider family.

We all know Steemit is all about learning curves. The moment we land in these waters instantly there's at least 5 things we need to figure out.

  1. What is Steem/SBD
  2. Upvotes & Flags
  3. How to use your passwords
  4. How to power up
  5. What to post

But even in the early stages of my Steemit career, I saw the lesson I learnt about myself, that I truly am determined. As foreign as Steemit was to me, I was determined to keep going if anything just to see where the road will lead me.

A year later here I am.

We've moved, I love our house, Hubby and I are closer than ever, I'm a very happy member of the @TeamAustralia, @SteemPh, @TheAlliance, @Sndbox and @Ssg-community communities, I gained new families, I am rewarded for doing what I love to do and I have the opportunity to help so many people all thanks to Steemit.

To say Steemit changed my life is a total understatement. It's like I went from black and white to technicolour, from 2D to 3D. I see so many doors open, so many opportunities to make a difference in this world.

Just to top it all off we have this amazing Steemit community that has always been extremely supportive from the moment I got here.

Special shout out to my communities, homies, families... Having you guys.. I have no words... I really wouldn't have lasted this long without you guys...

It's an honor to be here. Thank you all so much for your support, love and acceptance.

It's been an amazing year.

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Happy steemit birthday @bearone! It truly was a fruitful year.

Cheers to more anniversaries! <3

Thank you so much @arrliinn! 🥂🥂🥂

Happy Steemit Anniversary momi @bearone! I miss you so much. God bless you po. I love you! Take care momi. :)

Thank you love. I miss you too! Havent seen you on discord for a while. Patty tells me youve been helping her. Thank you so much ❤❤ I love you. Youre the best xoxo

Hello mami @bearone. Yes, mami. I miss you tooooooo. Thank you so much! God bless you!

Happy Steemit Anniversary Mommiiee 💕 Thanks for the inspiration, it gives additional boost for us to keep going! More anniversaries to inspire more people! God bless you more!!

Happy Steem Anniversary. So many awesome people celebrating their first year in Steem this week!

On to more projects and communities that you are active in.

Thanks Mav! Yep June 2017 was an epic month for Steemit ;)

Congratulations on your one year anniversary, seems like quite a few people joined around this time @saffisara had her anniversary last week.

What a story to go with it, I had never realised your background all your posts are very upbeat and I throughly enjoy seeing your beautiful garden and of course the wonderful food and cookery posts.

With so many people now passing one year and still actively posting here, it's reassuring for people starting out to see the sort of growth that is possible if you really work at it - something you are really a fine example of.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Happy birthday doll! Been quite a ride so far and I'm glad you stuck it out, even through the hard times. Happy to call you fam and even happier you're still here.

congrats! Mine is coming up as well - time flies!

Thanks hun xox Wooohooo! Are you celebrating?

Happy steemit birthday!

Thanks Choo! 🤗🤗

Just started actively on Steemit for a week now and I wished I have started sooner. But this platform is a great place to spend time because so many content creators are putting out great content! Better than wasting time on FB going through news feeds with negative news.

Welcome to Steemit! Dont worry, I wish I started sooner too. It's amazing over here, the people, the variety of content, getting rewarded for posting ~ seriously, Steemit is the place to be.

Thank you @valth 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00