Tips for Newbies @Steemit !! Use your tags carefully!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians !!

First of all, I would like to thank every one who upvoted and commented my previous post where I shared some tips for newcomers and my experience at steemit. If you have not gone through my previous article then here is the link

But before you read this post, I want you to know that I am writing this article out of sheer embarrassment..

Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 9.39.03 AM.png

(picture courtesy : freepik.com)

Yes, you read the heading correcly... To tell you the truth, my last article was really popular and many people reached out to me and thanked me for the tips. Being a newcomer here, I was really happy to interact with the community members and was basking in the glory, but suddenly my whole world came crashing down when I received this message from @spaminator
Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 10.50.40 AM.png

It was a warning to use the the tags carefully !!
In my previous post, I described the importance of using the tags correctly but unknowingly, I committed that same mistake on that same post. This is what I wrote on mistagging in my earlier article
Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 12.38.00 PM.png

In my previous post, I used 5 tags.
Primary Tag: blog
Secondary Tags: introduceyourself, introducemyself, steemit & steemiteducation

But why I unknowingly committed that mistake ?

So, according to @spaminator & @steemcleaners , #introduceyourself and #introducemyself posts are tags specific to the initial self-introductory post. IT MEANS, THESE TAGS ARE CREATED TO BE USED ONLY ONCE !! But why people are using #introduceyourself & #introducemyself tags so regularly? It is confusing for a newcomer like me .

If you want to check it, then right now, open another tab in you internet browser and go to the Trending, Hot, New & Promoted pages of #introduceyourself and #introducemyself tags. What do you see? Do you see all the people posting their introductory article? No right? You will find many experienced steemians using #introduceyourself tag for different subjects.

Does it mean that many people ( even the experienced ones) still don't know how to tag properly? It appears so!!

It is difficult being a newcomer. You tend to pick up things from surrounding without knowing anything about it. There is no one to tell you what is right and what is not and you tend to accept whatever you see as the thumb rule. And that's where I made a mistake. I was so accustomed to seeing people using #introduceyourself tag regularly that I thought this tag could also be used for posting informative articles for newbies !!

I thought tags can be used in related subjects ( like #introduceyourself tag in my "Tips for newbies article" which I thought is related to newbies in steemit) and not entirely different subjects ( like writing a poem and tagging it in #bitcoin tag) but now I know little bit more about tagging, thanks to @spaminator who shared an interesting article.

So, here is what I have learnt:

  • Inaccurate tags can be considered as Tag Spamming : It happens when the author purposely applies tags that don't fit the post in order to gain extra rewards.Wrong tags can lead viewers to downvote your the post and remove whatever rewards you could have otherwise received. It is very important to use tags that accurately-describe the posted content. If a whale decides to downvote your content, you may lose your reputation points.

  • Tag Abuse : It is the unintentional application of the wrong tags to a post.

  • Tags on steemit are used differently than Instagram, Facebook and other Social media platforms. You can use hundreds of relevant and irrelevant tags under you posts in these platforms but not in Steemit.

  • the first tag is actually a category and it cannot be edited after the post is published

  • all the other tags except the first tag can be changed later on

Tags and their use :

These are the tags , mentioned in the Game of Tags article from @steemcleaners . Please read their article for more information. I hope you will know the importance of tagging now !!


Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 6.33.04 PM.pngScreen Shot 2018-09-13 at 6.32.51 PM.pngScreen Shot 2018-09-13 at 6.32.37 PM.png

If you have learnt anything from my mistake then please follow me @bee84, upvote and resteem !! I would love to hear from you guys in the comments. Please reach out to me if you want to add something to this topic :-)!

Check our my previous post here : https://steemit.com/blog/@bee84/tips-for-newbies-steemit-my-experience-so-far

Sort:  

I Wasn't aware of that. Thanks Brother. Also thanks for your warm welcome!

Thank Bro, Check my latest post for newbies as well.. This will help you further. All the best !!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@bee84/tips-for-newbies-steemit--how-to-convert-steem-to-steem-dollar-in-1-minute-2t7bgokh

This is a very helpful post, I am new here and have used correct tags in order of my post topic but was wondering if people use popular tags to get more visibility, I'm happy I didn't do that since there are spam cleaners, thats great!

hi @jenina619 , thanks for reading my post.. yes many people are misusing the tags to get rewards.. I have shared the list of tags and their usage (in table) at the bottom of my post.. it is very informative and will give you more info related to tagging !!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was going through one post today and look what I found.. tagging is serious business now

Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 11.20.05 PM.png

OMG I was going to use the tag again to introduce myself but to the spanish community..

Thanks for your webcome in my post i am happy in steemit.

hi @astrid carvajal. thank you for your upvote n comment. also check out this link. this has lot of important information for newconers https://steemit.com/blog/@bee84/tips-for-newbies-steemit-my-experience-so-far

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice information

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks @thecryptoplayer !! I hope the informarion helped you to gain more knowledge about tagging

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Share For Valuble Information

Posted using Partiko Android

hi nituanuj786. . i am glad that you found the info valuable

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @bee84! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You posted this a while ago, but you have no idea how much it has helped me as a newbie, thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82