YouTube is pushing me to Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I've been creating Bitcoin and crypto related content for just over a year. I've started to make a little bit of a living at it, and things were looking up for me as a YouTube content creator. Since I started my channel "BTC Sessions" I've grown to nearly 13,000 subs and almost 700,000 views on my videos. How exciting!

btc sessions profile1.jpg

But alas, centralization has now reared its ugly head and given me a dose of reality. Turns out something I'm doing is no longer advertiser friendly. This has resulted in any new content being uploaded being flagged and any monetization being pulled. So much for that bright YouTube future.

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 8.39.40 AM.png

So what am I doing to get my monetization pulled? Must be pretty awful right?
Well that's the thing. I have NO FUCKING CLUE. Videos started getting flagged, so I submitted all of them for manual review. Guess what? They all came back as still being demonetized. Even worse - there's no explanation as to why. I took a look through possible reasons and I can't seem to find anything other than (possibly) the odd swear in my live streams. I've now emailed support to get clarification.

If there's one thing this has taught me, it's that whenever there is a centralization of power and a means to censor/dis-incentivize certain types of content - it will eventually come to bite you in the ass. I'm pretty new here on Steemit, but this has taught me the value of having a censorship resistant forum. As I learn the ropes here I hope to become a large contributor to the ecosystem. Any feedback or suggestions are welcome. Thanks for being a "way out" of the centralized model.

Sort:  

You should take a look at dtube.

Definitely looking at it :) Thanks for the suggestion!

That platform has a lot of potential as a YouTube substitute. This site it more for blogs :)

Dtube limit the life of videos. They take them down after about a month I think. Check limitations of Dtube first

Welcome man! The community here is deep in the crypto and liberty game. They expect great content and it pushes you to deliver. Good luck!

Thanks man, I really appreciate the welcoming arms!

If you don't comply with the ideology of Google or YouTube, you will be ostracized/censored at some point. I saw the same thing happen with this guy:

His videos on psychedelics are very well done, and are quite informative, but for some "unknown" reason, YouTube started to demonetize his content.

Anyhow, you got a new follower. Welcome to Steemit.

Craziness. Yeah it looks like anyone deemed not advertiser friendly is going to be driven away! Thanks for the follow!!!

The big question is: how is YouTube determining this so-called "advertiser friendliness?" Who sets the criteria?

Content that doesn't meet with the status quo. If you regurgitate fox news, or BBC you'll be okay

You won't look back.

I'm already starting to feel like this was a blessing in disguise.

welcome to steemit man, I remember watching your hardware wallet reviews way back when. Thank you!

YT is trying to be the new Netflix (which will not happen) with their streaming service. Our good friends, @mericanhomestead, apparently had their YT account suspended due to them having a somewhat conservative voice and a self-sufficient tone.

Not sure what their motivation is behind all these shenanigans, but I know many channels are switching off and folks are telling YT to go pound sand.

Keep in mind that Google owns and controls YT and may be in the process of building a Big Brother type universe. That's if you believe in conspiracies and such.

Welcome to the community and Steem On Brother!

This is the place to be! Resteemed

Thanks Randy!

Hi I'm quite new here too. It takes a while I guess until you're seen, but I guess if you make a video about your steemit account, your youtube followers might follow to steemit. It's really cool, its more like a community. There's a ton of good posts and information on here. So, welcome and keep posting some videos here. Maybe with another platform than youtube. Cheers

His youtube followers would benefit too if they join steemit

Thanks so much. The platform looks very promising and I'm looking forward to spending more time here. Everyone is so welcoming :)

That sucks man. YouTube has gotten way too out of hand in their crackdown. I would not be shocked if they start to target people talking about bitcoins as advertisers might not like having their ads play on that type of content. At least here you will know your cryptocurrency chats will be welcome

Always best in life to diversify even the platforms you use for social out reach for your own brand.

Recently a DTube application was created. I have not personally used it. Might be something you want to look into and it can be found here

There is always plenty to do here on Steemit. People do love reading forecasting, crytonews and anything related to it.

Heck, there are even contests once in a while where people are looking for information about different alt coins or where to invest. Winning one of those can help bringing some attention back to you as well.

One of the people I follow @birdistheword is holding a contest with $50 Steem for first place that you might be interested in Battle Of The Crypto Coins

Please Note: I took your asking for feedback as permissions to share some links. If you would like me to remove them please just ask and I will. Thanks.

This is some fantastic information, thanks so much Enjar! I'll check out everything you've mentioned - I'm especially interested in the dTube thing. Maybe I'll try uploading there today!

The spammy guy on this post has been at it all day buddy LOL. @enjar flag that spam LOL

hehe I drop them off in a channel and hope someone else has time to murder them good and dead ;p

You are too funny man

LOL

I try, just fried my brain on my new blog out. oh my war on spam....

Just got some blogs out and doing replies and heading out soon, will check it out shortly man -- thanks for LMK

Hi man! Good to have you on Steemit. I used one of your videos to make my first paper wallet. I wil follow you and hope everything works out well here.

That's so awesome to hear! I love running into people that I've helped in some way. I'll try to start posting a ton more content here.

Yes it really helped me. Thanks man. And i look forward to check more of your content.

View.ly is like DTube .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49