I'm new to steem and just trying to get to grips with how the platform works, I love it, but I want some clarification...

in #steemit6 years ago

For several weeks now, I have been browsing Steemit daily. I have a fascination with blockchain, cryptography and digital assets, and found this platform a great place for discovery and well written content about such a wide variety of topics.

Despite my studies in engineering revolving around maths, physics and problem solving, I've always been a keen writer, and somehow creativity seems to common ground between the two fields; a desire to use Steemit as a platform to create quality content has been growing within me.

My understanding however of the Steem ecosystem is weak, I've poked around on YouTube for an explanation to some nagging questions but been presented with typical less than satisfactory "how to make $200 on Steemit every day" videos!

Then... just as I think I've built a solid understanding of the system, I read this:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@dineroconopcion/is-grumpycat-abusing-it-s-steempower

Now I'm lost. I would like to think that creativity is rewarded, and appreciation is not bought. I'm no whale, so will I have difficulty in finding an audience when there are many users buying theirs?

I'd love to find some reassurance that this is a great place to write, moreover receive some advice on how best to get started, do I need to buy Steem, or Steem power and how do I use it most effectively?

Sort:  

I have some guides on my blog that you will find useful, I can also give you some tips here and now.

  1. put a photo to your profile, the easiest way is doing a introduceyourself post.
  2. join the discord channel, and minnow support.
  3. jump in here head first, find posts you like and comment appropriately on them, you can earn more from a great comment than writing for 2 hours and having zero views.
  4. get on other chat linked to this site, some marvellous people are on there, most are willing to help.
  5. contact me anytime you want, I am ready willing and able to help you grow.
  6. stay AWESOME!
    regards,
    Darren.

Thank you, I will certainly follow the steps and take a look at your guides!
I'll be in contact if I have any queries for sure.

The video in this post, is a great help also, when you have 47 minutes spare to watch it.. https://steemit.com/steemit/@deliberator/help-guide-for-us-newer-members

Congratulations @benv, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @benv! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @benv! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85