Bribing for Fun And Profit. Why I think it's Wrong.

in #steemit8 years ago


So, plain and simple - I think bribing somebody to read or to entice an upvote is wrong. I've spent very little time on researching this, but it's already easy to see.


People are sending 'SBD Bribes' in order to get a Whale to notice.


Now sure, if it works, it's great for the poster, and the curation rewards are great for the Heavily Steemed Individual. (I'm tired of saying whales - we're all people... NOT FISHIES)


However, the allowance of unsolicited bribes to get posts viewed and more importantly Upvoted is not a positive thing for the Steemit community. Perhaps disallow url's in the note section. I don't know.


If you're here, and you read, and you comment, and you share, and you spend time in the Steemit.chat, and you build your identity, THAT'S HOW YOU WILL GROW HERE. You also may provide excellent insight and value on a post and hit a home run in your first at bat. That's awesome too!!!


In my opinion, this is a practice that is pretty 'icky', and I would love to see it stopped.    Also, yes, I'm aware they aren't bribes per se - It's just a catchy way to get attention. 


I'd love to hear your opinions on this, and if you're not sure what I'm talking about, just search and you'll see a lot of those .001 SBD transfers :-)


-bigedude

Sort:  

Have you seen the Mighty Thor's Hammer slammed down???

I wouldn't say it was a "particularly mighty slam' actually. :-) I looked.

I seen those sbd bribes, yeah its good and bad. nice post ;)

Sorry I missed this. It's a good point. I think the bribing is partly necessity because there is no dm option on Steemit itself. I doubt the anybody believes the tiny amounts of money will actually be an incentive to the whales or anyone really.

I finally got my invite! Time to start reading and posting. And gonna need a refresher on what to do on this site. Luckaliy yoi have a video on it. Yea Buddayyyy!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54