To Steemit or Not To Steemit? Is this space for creatives?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

received_10155769952695342.jpeg

Hey y'all. So pictured above is the community I'm a part of "in real life". I'm constantly surrounded by amazing creatives, artists, activists, and techies. My goal here on Steemit and online is to cultivate that same sort of community - a beautiful community where ideas are exchanged and we lift each other up. Is that truly possible on this platform? Here I'm going to share my thoughts on the pros and cons of Steemit and I would love actual, real feedback.

FULL DISCLOSURE: I've only been here 2 months so please chime in and correct me when I'm wrong.

Pros:

  • The POTENTIAL of being a feasible alternative to the "major" social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube etc...
  • The POTENTIAL of meeting other like minded people that you can foster tangible friendships and working relationships with...
  • The FACT you do get PAID for content. It was super cool covering the majority of my water bill off of my "introduceyourself" post...

Cons:

  • A lot of the content here seems like generic nonsense without any real value or substance. I feel like people are rigging the system and that takes away from the entire platform experience. Is it outside the realm of Steemit etiquette to actually flag posts?
  • People profiting off other peoples art. For example, a while back I commented on an Etch-A-Sketch post from in which the art actually belonged to @kyle-fleming ...because of the semi-anonymous, decentralized nature of Steemit, it seems like this can be something that happens more often than not. Stealing and monetizing someone else's work is f**ked up no matter how you cut it...
  • Outside of maybe two or three exchanges, it's really hard to gauge if there's a substantial number of people looking to have real conversation and work towards providing real quality content (the stuff that will drive new users here).
  • Is there a real/official app? A lot of people like myself and other "young" creatives don't always travel with our laptops and a secure app would make it so much easier to share our thoughts and work with Steemit, on the fly.

steem.jpg

Either way, I'm excited about the possibilities of Steemit so I'm not planning on leaving for the time being. I'd like to thank some of my friends @suburbanslang @kluslim @daniwinns @promisemangum and @jonathanbrown for joining me here and hope we can contribute positively. Once again, please chime in with advice, suggestions, and answer that can help a rookie out!

Sort:  

bruh ...........you hit the nail on the head ,,,,,,,,,,,im just glad you said it and not me lol

Like yo, I REALLY want this to be dope. But we shall see...

Welcome to steemit @biglohiphop i am also new and passionate about the culture of Hip Hop in real life. I have made a couple of cool blogs about the platform particular you may find interesting and worth sharing "How to earn money and cryptocurrency on Steemit's social media platform" . Hope this helps you and building with your community let's collaborate: https://steemit.com/blockchain/@asherunderwood/howtomakemoneyandcryptocurrencyonsteemitssocialmediaplatform-75mcqtmiaz

Thanks for reading.

No doubt @biglohiphop in regards to the app there is an app @Esteem - which is pretty cool- but honestly I use iPhone 7 and find the safari browser app on my phone is better and easier interface.

Yeah I'm on my Samsung 8+ and the browser isn't bad but I'm sure a functional app would bring serious folks here

i feel you totally and completly i lapse into inactivity on here sometimes because i work hard on my art hours and hours to make a single beat sometimes .........years to craft me skills .................and you litterally got people spouting nonsense about crypto making 500 a post ......................it feels like high school all over again sometimes ............

Yo! @defjukie yeah this shits infuriating. Also I've seen copy and paste "news" posts making bank too. Supposedly they have bots that scan for stolen material from the web, but I've yet to see it

You're right bro. What's been working for me is producing my own content and always pushing for higher quality, as well as networking with others by participating in contests!

To me, contests are really where the community aspect of Steemit shines! They're a great way to meet others here.

Much love yo!
Bryan

I see the contests pop up in my feed, mostly photography related. I will have to dive in those more. Thanks for chiming in! Peace

Anytime you add profit to something, humans will fuck it up. lol

That seems to be the case. But we got to eat, alas here we are lol

Oh man, you hit the nail on the head here. I enjoy the idea of this so much but it's been so hard to find content and people to interact with when a lot of it doesn't seem to make any sense. Hopefully we can build this platform further!

Yep! There's so much potential for it. It CAN be so good but the clutter and clunkiness must be addressed

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Here's an upvote, but I'm trying to get this to grow organically with quality content. Thanks Mr bot

I'm diggin the platform so far. At least it has a respectable pay-out for artist instead of screwing folks like the major players/Youtube.

Great pic. Keep it up

Absolutely that's one of the plusses for sure. And I assume the majority of us are minimally tech savvy. I do think a secure app and getting rid of all the spammy stuff would do wonders in making it a legit competitor to the "big" networks

Thanks, we'll see how it goes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59