You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Much is Your Post Worth? [A Steemit Rewards Guide]

in #steemit6 years ago

Love this post and i seriously think the $ needs to be reconsidered. If we have two currencies on here then why are we not viewing both on the post payout. This is one of the most critical and complicated things for new people to steem to understand and I believe it should be one of the first things to be addressed.

My vote would be to show post value in SBD and Steem depending on what selection was made.

Leave it up to the exchanges to put that into a $ value

Sort:  

yes right man

It took me weeks to understand how the Steem half was calculated. Yes, you can't really say that the post value is in SBD - it's really in a "token" with half the value in SBD and half the value in USD (that will get paid in Steem.)

I made a post on that here (with examples) that generated quite a bit of discussion: https://steemit.com/steemit/@theinsideout/i-finally-understand-50-50-steemit-author-rewards-and-so-can-you

The issue I see with steering away from the $ denomination is that it will be much trickier to get people outside of the cryptocurrency realm to join the platform. Those not familiar with crypto are eased into the community by knowing straight away what their post is worth it in the "real world." Of course, that amount should be fairly accurate to be meaningful.

Yes steem is part of the new economy, and crypto things have to take over, perhaps in an orderly way, so communities have more power than banks and oligarchs.

Agreed.... USD is far less useful to me than the CAD that is the going coin where I live, so it would he nice to have the option to switch between a variety of options.

Thank you @bitcoinflood! You've made some great points here. It would be worth exploring an interface option with Steem / SBD for 50%/50% and just Steem for 100% Power Ups.

I would find this much easier to follow. Would this approach also help me "see" whether SBD is worth more than SP when I post?

Agreed, it is a bit confusing for new Steemians like me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08