What NOT to do on Steemit.com

in #steemit6 years ago

19887B7B-AC4C-40FB-A0C4-44B62815EA7C.jpeg

What’s going on Steemers! If you want to have a good reputation and build a good following, then follow these rules.

As you all know there’s and endless amount of posts you can google or see posted daily on Steemit of what TO do to be successful on steemit, but I never see anything on what people should avoid doing. Actions that turn people off and away from you and your content which leads to a bad reputation, failure, and despair. Wouldn’t you want to avoid that? Ok good then continue reading this post.

Before I give my pointers on what NOT to do on Steemit, I want to first say that I’m going based off of what bothers me or makes me not want to respond to certain Steemers, not follow, not resteem, or upvote their posts. And here’s a warning for all those people that troll others and spread negative comments on their posts.. Yes, I used bots for this post. I don’t believe it’s a terrible thing to spread a message on Steemit. Yes I understand that usually you get a negative ROI when using bots, I’m aware. I used bots on this post, not to get rich, but too spread a valuable message to those who I see all to often doing things that are frowned upon the Steemit community. So for all those that go crazy and love to start drama and negative gossip on posts, save your energy this time. There’s no need for it. This community needs positive feedback, not hate and name calling to make yourself look good to get upvotes in the comment section by making other negative people agree with you.

1st DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t put up a post of the most random thing, with no effort, over and over again throughout the day. You’re crowding feed of others good posts, leaving no room for the valuable content driven posts to be aknowledged.

2nd DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t comment stupid comments on others posts like “follow”. People’s posts are not to be commented on in that fashion to attract people to your blog.

3rd DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t comment “upvote”on someone’s post, why would someone want to waste the reward pool on such a wasteful comment? You don’t deserve the upvote by saying that and you actually do harm and turn people off from your blog.

4th DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t spam advertise on others posts, people work hard on their blogs. It is not for you to advertise something or scam people. Along with the first 3 DONTS, it will cause you to get flagged.

5th DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t go through the “new” section and copy and paste the same comment expecting an upvote. It’s very annoying and people start to notice. An example is commenting “so true” on 10 different peoples posts even though you probably didn’t read their post to begin with! It’s very annoying and I’ve noticed people doing that on my posts. We’re not stupid, people notice the no effort commenting just to gain followers, and upvote.

6th DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t start fights on people’s posts with negative comments that are not feedback, but judging. You look stupid. People here that post and do something “wrong” in your eyes are still learning and deserve positive feedback. Not negative comments and gossip to make yourself feel better or to get all the other trolls to agree with you so you receive upvotes by making someone’s post look like a massacre.

7th DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t open an account on Steemit and never use it again, it’s a bad look for Steemit having unused profiles and holding SP that wou will never use.

8th DONT of Steemit:

  • dont abuse your power on steemit by flagging people that don’t deserve to be flagged JUST BECAUSE YOU DONT AGREE WITH THEIR OPIONION! Flagging is only for content that is abusive or vile or spamming.

9th DONT of Steemit:

  • don’t come on Steemit to advertise a company that is stealing Steemit users, there is no better platform than Steemit so stop spamming this community. It’s here to stay so get used to it and go back to Facebook.

If I missed any DONTS of Steemit, feel free to add them in the comment section 😊

15F8ED30-2A53-40F1-AAC4-9E3AA4C8B0E6.jpeg

344F3F44-D748-4689-BA82-B56ABCF6D808.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you very much for this valuable and entertaining content! I completely agree with you 100% hands down !

https://steemit.com/fundraising/@jejes/steemit-help-fundraising-for-my-friend-s-father

Hi everyone! pls do help to upvote this post for my friend's father's heart. They need our support right now.. I've read in your post that we should not beg for votes, but I will do it now for my friend.

@bradonscalera thank you so much for this. This is really helpful for those of us who are new here. I'm happy I stopped to read. It's encouraging too. Thank you

so I'm a good girl 😊

Clear and concise, @brandonscalera. While us newbies are trying to fathom the maze of what to do, we can make these simple mistakes, especially coming from other social media sites not aligned with the ideals and goals of a place like steemit. I think this extremely helpful for everyone, so resteeming.....Thanks so much!

Thanks Brandon!
I feel the same way, brother. After a while it becomes nothing more than an annoyance!
This is a good reminder for all those that do this. And it is quite a few.
My pet peeve is people that leave a comment that has nothing to do with a post I may have spent hours on and is just an advertisement for something totally unrelated.
I don't believe in flagging anyone as we all have the right to be free in what we believe no matter if it does not conform to our own beliefs.
Most everyone that leaves a comment on my post I give an upvote to and those that leave a comment totally unrelated to my post I don't upvote. I think it is better than flagging and perhaps a more positive way of doing things.
.....upvoted and resteemed

DONT, DONT and DONT BEG for upvotes and ask the fellow steemians to follow you. Just post a worth reading and informative article and valued upvotes and followers may just come along with it.

These are some good guidelines. I would say if people are here to engage and add value, they wouldn’t be doing many of the things you mentioned. Most people are here to make money and they really don’t know how to engage properly. We need more valuable engagement and less spammy commenting and upvote begging. Thanks for the post! Resteem

Good rules of thumb. The less spam, low quality post, etc the more enjoyable steemit will be.

Long live Steem!

This is simple but yet powerful advice. I think people who cut corners and paste the same comments like you said is really bad for themselves and the platform. This should be a must read for those joining the platform.

I totally agree, especially with the 6th. Discussing is harmful to this community and especially to those of us who are beginning to be a part of it. Excellent post @brandonscalera. Although I would add a 10th point: Don't stop giving credit to who belongs, authors, image banks, videos and any other resource you use in your publication. Honor to whom honor deserves.

Thank you friend, I believe that if we do an education campaign on steemit we will improve in great steps, many of us start without a guide on this network and as you make mistakes you learn from them, well just like everything else in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99