The Art of receiving (Exemplified by the situation on Steemit)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Receiving is an art

Is it more blessed to give than to receive?

As simple as giving looks, it is quite complicated and involves a whole lot more than we could imagine.

This is because giving involves

  • request (by word or conduct),
  • desire
  • intent
  • compassion and
  • the physical art of giving itself.

Giving in itself is it's own power. There lies great power in generousity.

The intentions of giving

The intent we mentioned above may be positive or negative. Negative giving involves giving something and expecting another thing in return or alternatively giving conditionally . Meanwhile positive giving involves giving without expecting anything in return, giving the other person to make them feel like part of the human race, indeed giving to fulfill the purpose of living itself.

So what then is receiving?
Is receiving unimportant?
Is receiving a selfish act?

Receiving is the act of collecting something which is being given. Receiving is the reasonable response to the act of giving.

receiving-hands-1920865__480.png

It would shock us to know that receiving is as much blessing as giving itself. This submission flows from the premise that two cannot work together unless they agree. Thus we can boldly submit that There can be no "giver" of "giving" without a corresponding "receiver".


Giving triggers two impulses

When something is being given to a person. There are two things the person can do. Either he receives it or he declines.

Sometimes declining gifts or not receiving could be a good thing but we should be careful enough to discern gifts and their purposes so we don't loose the amazing opportunity to allow other people feel like part of the human race through extending a random act of kindness expressed in giving.

Receiving is as important as giving.

Giving on Steemit (Blessing human strangers)

Steemit has availed us an amazing opportunity to give and share love to people around the world, people we never met or knew hitherto.

Steem is uniting thousands of people around the would through the power of giving and receiving.

You make a post and random people upvote it. You receive rewards in seven days. You've been touched by people you never know. You've been blessed by strangers. Imagine walking on the road and a total stranger sees you and slips $10 into your hands because of the way you smile or because he wants to share with you and make you feel more human. Receiving and giving makes us feel human.

How Steemit depicts the theory of receiving

Don't refrain from receiving but practise giving more often.

To give is important but without receiving there will be no giving and both share the blessings equally. Steemit practically explains this. Consider this amazing wisdom I found on Steemit :

When you make a post and you claim rewards, the following happens to further buttress our theories of receiving :

  • The payouts is split into two parts, that is, 25% for curators (that is the people who gave you contributorily) and then you get 75%
  • The 75% you get is split into two halves. One half goes to your Steem power (in order for you to develop your voting capacity and bless other people in equal measure) . The other half goes to your SBD (which you may decide to power up and build voting power)

Therefore, on Steemit, receiving enables you to give. We are learning how to give to strangers. We are learning how to give by receiving.

Aspects I've received on Steemit*.

  • These are but a few occasions which I can recall at the time of making this post. The list is by no means exhaustive.
  • When I signed up to Steemit newly, I was given a 100% upvote by @stellabelle for my introduction post which gave me me first $14
  • @gunneresq and @sweetstglo-eu extended $1 to me as a welcome present
  • @ogochukwu keeps .
    garden-1825637__480.jpg
    mentoring me and teaches me how to be a better blogger and person
  • @ehiboss and @ogowinner have given me a chance to grow and develop and meet other Nigerian steemians on the platform. They have actively contributed in curating my works.
  • @idunique has taught me the dignity in hard work, staying awake all night to work on Steemit and develop myself and others
  • @camzy made a free avatar for me.
    1507723969888.jpg
    He has taught me that I can be a mentor to people despite my shortcomings in life.
  • @mimy continually supports me and uplift me with her works
  • @edumurphy believes in me so much though he doesn't know me personally. He expects so much from me.
  • @maxdevalue and @steveblack are human angels God sent to bring His message unto Steemit.
  • And lastly @surpassinggoogle who has touched me to the aspect of tears. He has brought forth the best in me without even knowing it. In fact, this entire post is an offshot from his wealth of inspiration and I'm eternally grateful to be part of #untalented

Finally, I used me payouts from Steemit for these past few months to pay for my accommodation in school and for all these gifts of people and Steem, I'm grateful.

image source

Sort:  

Wow
Cool
It's an honour for me to be mentioned here :-)


Well presented write up @buterdaniel

Hahaha, I'm more honoured to have you as friend.

Thanks @camzy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69346.64
ETH 3676.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21