You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit and The Dynamic of the Authoritarian in Assumption

in #steemit7 years ago

hot damn... this peaked my interest and i kept reading... you aint hurting for words. haha.

honestly i kept reading because i liked what i was reading. and just when i thought i was disagreeing you would flip it back to something i had thought as well.
and in my opinion you nailed the end. The Individual, Individual, Individual......'If you help them get things that they want, specifically the things that they want and not the things that you think they should have,'

i could talk of all my points and how they pertains to yours. but i think instead i'll say just one idea that i want as an individual.
I want a second feed. the one feed can stay as is... where i just see all the people i follow and can randomly pop into points of view i may not agree with... little breaks in the feed back loop.
but the other i want is a my favorites feed... i dont care what the call it. i just want to be able to separate those that have passed my little test of content of quality, and being real. a place where i can put my Eric and my @illuminaughti whether i agree with them all the time or not... its that i want easier access to those that i honestly am already following. but now i have to search for them...or find a comment i made to them so i can click and find there newest post. i dont want to not follow all those other folks... i just want a direct access point to the folks i have sifted through and pass my personal seal of approval. empower me steemit....give me the 'my favorites feed' tool i want steemit. pretty please 😁
thanks for you musings @lextenebris

Sort:  

hot damn... this peaked my interest and i kept reading... you aint hurting for words. haha.

This is what happens after you've written a couple of books and spent time in the trenches doing corporate and enterprise-level technical support. You get wordy. You get expansive. You tend to over explain things.

You know, like I do.

but the other i want is a my favorites feed... i dont care what the call it. i just want to be able to separate those that have passed my little test of content of quality, and being real.

On most social media platforms this is called "a friends list," and is one of the primary driving forces of user engagement with a site. I think everyone has been on Facebook and Twitter, the two 900 pound gorillas in the room when we talk about social media. Both of them are heavily focused on directly communicating with people that you "know."

It's extremely important to register that both of those platforms started with and became popular for that singular particular thing, that they allow you to decide there are some people whom you want to know what are up to. Both of them added more complex organizational and social connectivity later in their lifecycle; Twitter added lists and Facebook added Pages relatively recently.

Twitter did that because by default it points a firehose at your face, turns it on full blast, and let you drown in the stream. Being able to construct and manage lists of people that you want to see at any given time makes that feed manageable for a lot of people.

Facebook added Pages because they wanted to improve their search cohesion and add one more way for people to flag their personal interests, and Pages does that extremely well. As an added side effect, Pages allow people who do not have a personal connection but who share a common interest to have a channel by which they can receive content that they are extremely likely to be interested in and, incidentally, discover other people whom they want to add as "friends," and be updated on their broader, more regular content creation.

Steemit, despite Communities being on the roadmap – and I want to reiterate, that's one of the things that every social media platform really needs to have and do well – still doesn't have good mechanisms for the social part of social media.

That's a real problem. I think everyone that wants to use Steemit as a social media platform, what it ostensibly pretends to be, feels that absence extremely keenly.

Alongside that is the issue of separating "resteeming" (which I maintain is a lazy way of trying to enable better discovery options and probably shouldn't be part of the system at all) from actual new content.

That may be an entirely other post.

I appreciate the fact that you have managed to suffer through the vast bulk of my rambling, and I hope that you will continue to be entertained as time goes on. Or that I don't get bumped off of here for being a bitter, cynical, ridiculous old dude. Whichever.

oh...that would be a good new button... bump the bitter old dude button. sort of a labeled flag..haha. resteeming pisses me off often too....i dont mind one resteem. but people be re-spamming. 6-7 in a row from same person in my feed. unfollow very much.
i wouldnt say i suffered through your post...but i did do a double scroll down. reading for a while and then ...thinking about what it meant to me...formulating what i would say...then more reading....then being like...how long is this and my finger had to do the retrace from bottom to top several times...holy shit. but you had me. so that says something... i went back up to my spot and continued the slog because i wanted to...thats not suffering.
well i hope they hurry up with that community section. because yeah...as you pointed out.. they forgot the social part of the social media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68331.60
ETH 3842.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64