There is a disturbance in the steemit platformsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Greetings to all Steemians,

This post is about some things that concern me about the steemit platform in general. You can call it a rant if you like. But these concerns should be everyone's concerns not just mine. Please read through carefully, sometimes I have a problem conveying my thoughts to words.

Plagiarism

Some people and organizations here on steemit have taken it upon them selves to be the moral police and flagging peoples posts for plagiarism with out notice or explanation. This I do not think has happen to me yet as far as I know. Maybe you should check and be sure @carpenterbee.

For petes sake, if your going to flag someone for plagiarism at least do the person a favor and let them know what it is they did wrong. Think about it! How are they going to correct the problem if they do not know what it is they are doing wrong? Link definitions, Show them or link to posts that show them how to properly cite other peoples work in their posts. This willy nilly flagging with out explanation will hurt the community more then help it.

Censorship

This platform was advertised as being a DE-centralized and UN-censor-able platform. If people are going to start using the flagging system to start limiting another authors post just because they do not agree with its content then that is CENSORSHIP!
I seen a post yesterday that listed community guidelines! WTF! Again community guidelines are a form of censorship. One group of peoples beliefs or views being projected onto a community as a whole. This community that is supposed to be all for DE-centralization and against censorship. So whats up with that?

From what I see in my personal opinion is that these people that are projecting these so called guidelines either (1) have no idea what personal responsibility is or (2) choose not to employ personal responsibility.

Adult material - has a place here, its category is called NSFW tag. If you click the link to view the content then it is your personal responsibility for doing so. If you do not wish to view such material then it is your personal responsibility NOT to click the link to view. See where I am to go with this?

Hate speech – it is still a matter of personal responsibility. The author’s personal responsibility for posting it. The reader’s personal responsibility NOT to up-vote if it is disagreeable to his or her beliefs or view. The personal responsibility of the author of the reply comment to the post.

Using the flagging system to run people off the platform just because they may have posted something contrary to what the reader believes, is censorship plain and simple.

Junk posting

With the technology we have today we can fit the contents of the entire library of congress on a thumb drive. I doubt that the amount of so called “junk posts” would amount to more then 1% of the total content on the block chain.

Besides who’s call is it to determine what is junk? and whats not? Is a meme a junk post if it makes the reader smile? Is it junk if it up lifts someone out of mental depression? What if some one was contemplating suicide and a meme post with nothing else, caused that person to change their mind? Would that post be junk?

Every post on steemit has some type of value. It is someone expressing them selves. Condemning a post as junk is your personal opinion only! Again it returns to personal responsibility. Don’t like it don’t up-vote it. After all it is the community as a whole that decides what is junk and what is not, by the up-votes a post gets. Up-voting gets a post seen more. Don’t up-vote and the post buries its self.

There is no real need that I can see for the flagging system. If steemit is true to the statement of not being a censored platform then it needs to be removed. It is there now and it will eventually get abused by people in this community for personal vengeance because they seen a title that offended them or some other childish reason. I wish the developers to remove the flagging system. If nothing else, from view of the general population of the community.

I hope this was comprehensible. I hope that it is informative. I hope that it …. well anyway employ your personal responsibility and up-vote or not. Just do me a favor and remember this following message.

Every individual choice you make, good and bad is your very own personal responsibility. You and you alone Own it!

Peace to all and have a great day!


my avatar image provided by http://www.clker.com/clipart-teal-bee.html

Steemit-Beekeepers-carpenterbee.png Steemit-woodworkers-carpenterbee-small.png

my bee keeping & carpentry badge graphics provided by @daddykirbs

All Content on this blog is 100% @carpenterbee in thought and action


all non original content will be linked to it’s source when it is used

If you would like Up-vote, resteem, and Follow me @carpenterbee

Sort:  

I am new here and I was confused by that as well. I still don't totally understand who all these bots are, and who steemcleaner is and if they are officially appointed to clean up Steemit(?) or if there are community guidelines and if so where are they posted? So it's interesting to see someone who has been here longer talking about this.

I am also fairly new to steemit, I joined in June 2017. I am still looking for some type of official community guidelines from the owners of steemit, If there are any.

Yes, me too. It's a bit of the wild west here, which I kind of like. But it leaves me sometimes puzzled about how things work.

Very appropriate characterization of the situation. See my comment to your other comment above.

The Steemcleaners and other bots are all community projects. They don't have any official backing. Just community support. They also are fallible and can make errors, just worth noting, as I've had a post incorrectly flagged for tag spam although the tags were (clearly) appropriate, and it was later retracted from the report.

There aren't really community guidelines, it's more like there are a lot of sub-communities and they each have their own sort of "culture", if you will. You kind of have to walk on egg-shells until you know who's house you are in, then you can act more appropriately.

By "who's house you are in", I mean if you act the wrong way in the wrong sub-community, you are likely to get flagged out and be unable to earn rewards. The smaller you are, the more generating a backlash against yourself can really hurt your potential earnings or reputation. Part of this is because the official line on voting (up or down/flags) is that there is no official line - each user can use their vested share as they see fit.

Also, my personal rule I try to follow was also stated below by @realitycheck:

Positivity will earn you many more friends here. If you can't post something positive in a post, and it's not abuse (spam/plagiarism etc.) you should probably just move on to another post, not vent in the comments, unless you are willing to be diplomatic and open to new ideas.

Yes, I have been getting that "eggshell" feeling and I've been (mostly) on my best behavior. So far I have really no idea whose house I'm in or if I'm even in a house! I feel more like I am wandering the moors, searching for a familiar hummock. Not sure who the subcommunities are yet. I have sensed various themes running through things, but so far they haven't coalesced in my mind.

So I guess I'll just...put on a happy face!

Better to engage than flag in my opinion.

Very true. Positivity will earn you many more friends here.

If you can't post something positive in a post, and it's not abuse (spam/plagiarism etc.) you should probably just move on to another post, not vent in the comments, unless you are willing to be diplomatic and open to new ideas.

Agreed there should be no flagging system, everyone needs to take personal responsibility. Censorship is what this platform should avoid at all cost, because that is the reason people are coming here, well one of them. No one wants censorship, we are all tired of that. in a free market there is no need for a system of coercion, it balances itself out.

Having no flagging is the reverse form of censorship. Since it takes the same voting power that you can upvote with, it costs a user directly to employ it. It's just another form of voting stake.

very nice post. I would upvote, but need to make a break on doing so, ´cause my Steempower value is so low right now.

No problem, just commenting can help.

Thanks for your comment. and resteem.

Nice post @carpenterbee. I have asked this question to more advances users awhile back. The flag is just a downvote really. And Rarely used. If used it would be nice to know why sometimes no doubt. I have heard stories of people who truly DO abuse this platform. That is what it is for. There are even accounts set up to deal with abusers. No platform is free of some sort of guidelines. We are human animals, some with hearts, sone with minds and sone with base instincts. It's a rollercoaster. Ride it! ;)

Thanks, The thing about this world we live in today is it is so screwed up, different from when I was a kid. Oh my kids today, would get there ass kicked back in my childhood. From what I have read in the Q&A flagging will take down the reputation faster then un-voting if you voted on the post in the first place. I do not know for sure still learning this stuff. Nice to see you in my comments section. :)

I know right! Kids today hahaha! Ya if you flag too much your rep goes down and no one will follow you. There is that nugget. Steem On!

Carpenterbee, you have no idea how much I agree with you, indeed today nothing makes sense anymore. What used to be right now is wrong. The world is becoming uncivilized, everything is up-side-down, all moral values thrown out the window. Today is this presumption of guilt that one supposedly starts with, and has to defend against and prove otherwise to anyone who wants to attack that person. We are all considered guilty unless we can demonstrate otherwise, when dealing with entities that have some sort of power to take us down. The attacker gets more credit than the victim, and doesn't have to prove anything. It's sad and laughable at the same time, but those are the times we live in, that is why there is a need for change, this circus it's been going on for too long.

I think you said it all right there. It will not change until it hits a "enough is enough" point to cause change for the better.

Every thing that has been happening the last forty years or so up to today and the near future has been explained in revelations. I am not a church going person (explanation can be a blog post all on its own) but I have read the bible cover to cover multiple times, one phrase stands out to me now. "As in the days of Noah so shall it be"

OK first of all you get my upvote for the simple fact you managed to get the words willy nilly into a post :)
Also, I think you have a good point, the flagging system sucks, I personally have never used it, and I don't think I've been flagged, but I have seen people like b.sanders abuse it and I think it's childish, and it has no place here.
Great post

Thank you very much. lol "willy nilly" guess that shows my age.

"carpenterbee bandwidth limit exeeded. Please wait to transact or power up STEEM."

Oh for cripe sake

Hello @carpenterbee

Agree with Spam and Plagiarism points but not with the notion that there is censorship. Why is that?

Because a 🏁 flagged post is not removed. It sits on Steemit for good, albeit less visibility - granted.

I have been the target of flagging for political views - not spam/plagiarism. While this is clearly wrong, it is for us to rally the community, just as you doing now, and name-and shame serial down-voters with questionable motives.

Thanks for this post!

-ch @globocop

That is true, its still on the block chain forever. what I am upset about is the fact that someone that chooses that route and is using the flagging system to purposefully reduce the posts visibility just because they are apposed, offended, cannot come up with a good retort, take your pick reason.
You also have to remember it effects your reputation more then removing an up-vote. at least that is what I took from all the reading I did, trying to learn about this block chain technology. If I am wrong then please correct me with the proper information.
If someone really wanted to get someone kicked off this platform and they flag every post the target posts would it not force the target to purchase steem to power up?

Oh I am all with you! I Have been the target of such attack by some misguided 'professional' down-voters as well - who are openly bragging about their mischief. They made it on my BLACK LIST. That is abuse and - and it is unacceptable.

When the time is right, they shall experience their reward. But play it smart...

-ch @globocop

I think this is why it is important to build up our reputation so that we can take a hit - and fight back.

Check out this post by @ausbitbank and consider voting him for witness if not already done. :) Vote Here

These bots - have a look at them:

FROM ausbit's post:
I've been studying usage patterns of all of the vote bots as well as the abuse flagging projects like @cheetah , @smackdown.kitty and @copypastewaster . I have @shame and @bitchplease available to dedicate to the cause, I'm just trying to find the best way to approach this and not make more enemies ..

Also, @fyrstikken, dragosroua, @aggroed witnesses are worth a vote for their transparency and minnowsupport.

-ch @globocop

done
@fyrstikken showed up as an invalid account or unknown account something like that

Oh yes - it's @fyrst-witness - for @fyrstikken...

Great stuff. Will publish an article on Witnesses in the next 48...

-ch @globocop

This caught my eye: "Every post on steemit has some type of value."

Exactly. I say that information wants to be free. Information wants to propagate. There is no such thing as bad information. Information can neither be created or destroyed. It can be organized and interpreted and that's it. As to good and bad, well, that is in the eye of the beholder.

I have been oscillating on the point of flagging myself for some time now. Your article convinced me that we do not need a flagging system. The upvote system is enough.

Even if I disagree with the ideas in a post, I still upvote it if it makes me think and has evidence of good writing (grammar, flow of ideas, punctuation is a plus).

I have upvoted, resteemed and followed you. Glad to meet you.

Thank you very much, glad to meet you also. My grammar still needs some work. And its a work in progress. lol I posted with out my editor looking at it first (my wife). but anyway when I get a burr under my saddle I tend to be more focused on what I am writing about. and this burr has really rubbed me raw for the last few days. Thanks for your comment, up-vote and follow. It is truly appreciated.

Very good post, I am suppose to not be voting right now because I need to bring up my % again after draining it not understanding how it works, but this post is too good not to upvote

You get 0.08% voting power back every 30 min i believe. This is so people do not abuse their voting power. It makes a lot of sense.. Read up on voting power posts. Ignorance of the system is on you alone. There are tonnes of people and articles to help here. The learning curve can be steep but it is worth it.

I totally agree, and lessons learned teach hard lessons, I won't be doing the bot things, and now I understand more and how the voting thing works, and am using my powers on limited basis till I am powered back up to 100% then I am gonna watch to make sure I don't hit under 80% unless it is really worth it.

Steemit is not allowing me to vote either until I am back up to 100% and I still had 67% voting power left which is something else I do not understand. It had to be something that was added to the code recently I think. Thank you for the comment.

I joined Steemit for the opportunity to share, learn and express personal opinions- and even have a lively, but not hateful, debate with others.
I post genuine topics that mean something to me and would expect a conversation back and forth; not just 'good post', 'nice post', etc.
I reply, upvote, resteem when I see a topic or idea that is interesting and what others may find important. But to just say good/nice post and move on is not what I am here for.

to reply to the first two sentences of yours. I agree, that is the way it should be.
to the rest of your comment
what is wrong with "good post", "nice post" ? so they did not engage with you. Does that mean that those comments are worthless? There have been several comments I have left with those words. Does it make them less meaningful because I did not engage more? depending on the post, I might have thought it is a good or nice post but I could not add anything more beneficial to the post. or I liked the post but did not know how to respond to the content. When we put our selves in a state where these little things annoy us, we should stop and ask our selves why does it bother me so much. I personally appreciate any comment I get on my post. good, bad or short. It does not make them any less important as a contribution. You could think of it this way, they commented and left you an opening to continue the engagement. ask them what they liked about the post. what provoked them to leave a comment. etc.
if engagement is what you want and all they leave is a "good post" then engage them.

Thank you for your comment it is truly appreciated.

I guess maybe I am looking for more communication. I realize the person(s) took the time to stop in and read my post and I completely understand your comment about not really having much more to add to the conversation, so I take the 'tsk-tsk' for my comment of not liking good/nice post.
I believe you have opened my eyes to something here in your comment to me. I see so many posts and comments about people not liking the good/nice post comments and I jumped the bandwagon of the majority; which is unlike me. Appreciate your words to help me see through it. (sigh) now I feel guilt... but it's all good. Viewpoints and listening to others' comments is a positive thing

It was never my intention to guilt you or cause you guilt or anyone else for that matter. I just would like everyone to be more aware of what they are writing and to not take it for granted if someone posts a two line post or a one or two word comment. it's like what I have posted in the "Junk posting" portion of the above post. people are not stepping back and thinking, just judging a post for content size and not the content its self. I really hope i am making sense here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83