Quick post: Possible solution to auto-flaggerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I realize that banning the asshole et. al. accounts goes against this sites principles. To silence even a troll would erode the values of "no censorship" we champion.

However, it's clear that he can do some real damage. Not only does it discourage new users from posting, it also prevents us from seeing when a post is flagged for legitimate reasons.

So I'd like to know if it's possible to give users the power to ignore other users. This wouldn't be traditional censorship, as it's self imposed. And we shouldn't have to deal with peoples antics if we don't want to.

So here are two questions:

  1. Is it technologically possible to give individual users the power to ignore all input from another user. This means flags, comments, posts and upvotes. Hopefully with the ability to adjust as we see fit. I don't know much about coding, but I feel like this would necessitate a serious change in how the site is programmed.

  2. Do you see anything logically or morally wrong with this idea? Is there something I am not seeing? It seems like a good solution to the problem.

Told you this would be quick. Thanks for looking.

Edit: For relevance (NSFW language)

Sort:  

I think if that were implemented, the troll would be able to ignore those who "police" spammers and abuse, and be able to carry on as if they don't exist.

If a tree falls in the woods...

But you raise a damn good point. What's to stop him from using the same tools to ignore those who flag him.

Good idea! On other social media you can "block" people. I'm not sure the banning issue would violate the no-censorship principle we all hold dear. If you go to this @asshole guy's page, it shows he's never posted anything. So it's not like he's a part of the Steemit Community. Also, on Fakebook, for example, they ask why you find posts you flag offensive...might not be a bad idea here. Upvoted & followed.

Hmm, yeah. Even a captcha for downvotes would help.

Yeah, but then you have to start deciding where to draw that line. Who are we going to consider part of the community or not? I think it's a lot more principled to say that you never ban anyone who isn't doing anything illegal.

I sure don't want to have to deal with his baloney though.

He downvotes everything I do and by now, I'm sure you're on his list. So, I'm kinda prejudiced against him. The problem that I see is that this person (I assume it's a he) doesn't post anything. He just downvotes everybody he has on his list. I think that letting bots downvote might be looked at as well.

Yeah, currently it's being counter-acted by another bot that upvotes everything he downvotes, lol. But that's more of a workaround than anything.

I can't get too bent out of shape about it. Growing up on the internet gives you a pretty thick skin concerning the depravity of humanity.

I'm old and no stranger to depravity, but I still don't like @asshole's!!!

The worst of the bunch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.12
ETH 3727.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65