Anyone notice that there's a lot of bots automatically following you every time you post something?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Every time I post something, especially in a new category, I'm instantly follow by a bunch of bots. It's pretty pointless to be honest.

I didn't know I was on Instagram or Twitter. I thought I was on Steemit.

Anyone notice this? Send a reply and join the conversation.

Edit: when I posted this I gained 2 new followers instantly which are bots of course. I'm not trying to make a commotion about it. I just noticed it and seeing if anybody else realised it was happening.

Sort:  

Why is this in the #utopian-io tag?

Shit needs fixing

Yes, I have noticed. It's very annoying. Having such followers is literally worthless to me. I wrote a post about it a few weeks ago: https://steemit.com/steemit/@keysa/isn-t-it-about-time-that-we-have-to-give-permission-to-be-followed. Hopefully there will be a solution soon. We can only keep spreading the message.

That's a good idea. Another alternative is to have the bots register as a different type of account on steemit that has set restrictions, whether it be toggle-able or not.

Yes. I get 10 or 12 as soon as I post anything and I'd like to know what the deal is.

I'm low on vote power so I had this resteemed through a sevice instead.

Cheers. It's could that they are using the Instagram technique were you follow people so they follow you back, then you unfollow, but I haven't seen the bots unfollowing me. I don't think that there is a follow limit on steemit. They might not need to unfollow.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @artisticscreech
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

The first dozen or more followers we picked up were all bots too. I've kept an open mind about them, honestly. They are thick as flys on poo, sure ...but they have a place in the bigger picture of things. Pretty sure they can't be taken out of system entirely, so I just got used to them. There are plenty of "real" users out there who make our efforts worth the time though.

I've noticed this too, but not sure the harm this is causing. Are there negative impacts because of this? I completely understand how useless this is.

No negatives. Just kind of annoying since they usually can't up-vote or interact with your content unless you are on a white-list or something.

You got a 25.00% upvote from @stef courtesy of @catonchronic!

Same here. In the last two weeks, I made 3 video posts, and in that interim I've gained almost 100 followers, and they are ALL bots (I know because despite this massive "following", my posts stand at zero views, lol).
What I want to know is if there's a way to capitalize on them. It sucks to have a bunch of followers that aren't even people, but maybe there's a way to turn the situation around? Perhaps I'm being too hopeful, but if there's no winning this game, then I have an account of almost exclusively bots following me, and Steemit is just a waste of my time.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68