Why I made a new steemit account.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

My other account is lost forever in the matrix of the steem blockchain because I was stupid and backed up my text document with my password on a different hard drive and unknowingly deleted the copy on the main hard drive.

The backup hard drive killed it's self now it's corrupt.

After a week or two I accidentally downloaded a virus which made my computers CPU usage 100% which leads me to believe I probably downloaded a silent miner.

I formatted my hard drive and reinstalled windows that's when I realised my password is gone forever. The only way I can get it back is by doing a full recovery which would probably take days, send it to a professional data recovery center, which cost too much money, or figure out what my chrome sync passphrase. Now I'm back to square one with Steemit.

I can't do steemit recovery on my old account which sucks.

At least I've learnt from this mistake and will ensure my passwords are saved online and offline.

I am going to make new more content on this account so please follow to help me to make back all the hard work I've lost.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Good lesson to share with the rest of us. Thank you.

I would recommend to store the master key only offline and without any Computer.
The posting Key for however can be stored in a Passwordmanager.

I sent myself an email with the key, so it stays in there

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by CatOnChronic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73