You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Switching My Miners Tonight to Full On Steem Power Collecting

in #steemit7 years ago

I think I need to do some more research. I didn't think you could practically mine Bitcoin with a GPU any more because of the ASIC competition. I thought Steem was ASIC mineable so haven't considered mining it with a GPU. Having fun trying out all these things anyway :)

Sort:  

Actually you can't mine Steem anymore, that phase ended last year. Only way you can is by the article I wrote up here where you take mining earnings and send to Blocktrades for Steem Power or Steem and Steem Dollars:

https://steemit.com/blocktrades/@sflaherty/how-i-mine-for-steem-power-and-get-weekly-sp-boosts-nicehash-blocktrades-steemit-wallet

GPU is more the mid range way of mining but with NICEHASH it takes your GPU puts it on other algorithms by profit switching and pays you in the equivalent. My GTX 1080 actually makes more than my old ASIC scrypt miner and it happens to be a little cheaper than that unit was oddly. Its all in how you mine and where you mine. I have also 2 really dated antminer s4 asics, don't even bother to run them anymore due to the elec costs and actually don't make profits on them. Just let them sit due to that sadly now. ASICs are still top dog but you got to invest in $3000 now a days for one unit that will proift and the return on that investment takes a couple months. In the ASIC world you really need to spend about 10K to see really money constantly coming in. GPU is kind of the affordable route to start into it. I actually just got another GPU on the way and plan to build a rig. I should get about $120-$150 a week with the 2 GPUs with NICEHASH...all depends where Bitcoin is. Now a days unless you got a mining farm, most people don't bother mining Bitcoin directly...we all tend to mine other coins and trade for it because its more profitable vs the cost to invest in miners and electricity. China corporate mining giants have literally taken over that side to Bitcoin against the individual.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78