You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-denied Freedom of Speech *** The Steemit Pyramid of Power!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I think you make a great point @corina

There have been a few times already in my relatively short time on steemit where I have either slightly tempered my views on one of my posts or have disagreed with a post but not bothered commenting or watered my comment down.

To add to your discussion with another commenter that disagreed with you, I think there is a clear difference between two arguments here. One, treating each other with respect at all times should be standard whether we agree or disagree. Two, there is a difference between disagreeing and voicing your opinion versus being polite and respectful. Let's not get the two mixed up which is what, I think, the commenter is doing.

Freedom of speech is/should be fundamental to our way of life. We should all be honest with each other, we should respect our difference of opinion and we should do it all in a polite and non aggressive way.

I agree with you. If we continue to hide our true feelings and lie to ourselves and others then what's the point.

When it comes to flagging and reputation, maybe one opinion, no matter how much steem they own, should not have the power to destroy an accounts rep. Surely that should always come down to the majority rule. What do you think?

Gaz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79