You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Dream, is it still alive?

in #steemit7 years ago

Great thoughts. I'm sure this is a topic on all of our minds.

I think that the unreal expectations most of us had when we joined Steemit are a big part of the problem.

If we can get new users to come in free of those unreal expectations, then we'll be on the right track.

I'm committed and invested. This means that I'm determined, like many of us, to make Steemit the dream that we all wanted it to be.

Call me an optimist (everyone else does) but I think if we just keep at it, keep creating valuable content with the idea that it will succeed in the long run, the abusers of the system will simply get washed away.

For now, I'm making sure to comment on and curate only content with actual value. We call the shots. While it may be a long long time before I'm a whale, I have seen a great deal of success in just a couple months. And that's compared to doing the same thing for nothing on the classic social networks. Not too shabby.

Thanks for your post! Keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Yeah, the expectations are a big problem, especially that most of the people are sold on this dream from the beginning as I was too.

I'm committed too; I'll keep on posting no matter what because I really like to.

I can't complain that much, in comparison with other sites where I spent a lot of my time for nothing this is a lot more better.

Right on! Thanks for being here. Real voices are what's going to make this work.

I was lucky, the way I came in. I didn't join because someone convinced me I would make a bunch of money. I believed in the blockchain first; every word, picture and creation that I put into it, I'm considering an investment.

I have a full-time job as well, and if I was relying on Steem entirely for my income, I'm sure I would be more stressed about it.

When I started, I knew so little about the blockchain community and what it can do, but I was sure that it's going to be huge and I have to get in.

I was introduced to Steemit by Jeff Berwick, and I thought that I could actually make some money, but I realized that I need to put in a lot of work and to have patience because there's no overnight success.

I could consider Steemit as being my full-time job since I'm spending more than 40 hours here every week but calling it a job would be a disrespect, but I am a full-time Steemian, that, I think it sounds better. :)

Sorry for the delay in response but there were so many things going on in the last few hours.

Blockchain is the main reason why I'm still holding on to the system despite the fact no one is reading my contents. Take this from a noobie perspective who get disappointed by the short-time experience within the community.

For first worlders, steemit's value is community. Also, I'd like to see the rise of a third type of user: the reader/patron. Help your favourite creators by upvoting. Even better if you powerup a few STEEM. This usn't the same as a curator user because there is less time commitment but the reward mechanism (curation rewards, reputation, community feelgood) already exist on steem.

As far as I've seen, there are already a few people that are operating that way, and from my personal experience, I can say that they are vital to the community.

I'm a wannabe content creator - but actually a reader / investor in practise. Haha. It'll come.

That's a great point. I am first a content creator, so for me a challenge is setting aside the right amount of time for just reading posts, upvoting and commenting. I noticed right away, that's how you get to know people.

It would be a good idea to have an advertisement that was all about bringing in those reader/patrons. When I think of the potential rewards from just reading and commenting... $$

I bet the rise of that third type of user is coming soon. Thanks for commenting.

Steemvoter style autovoters are kinda like Patreon's pay per post option. Though a more Patreon like interface would help make that more obv.
Though - autovoters are a contentious issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83