Steemit Basic Syntax Guide for Beginners

in #steemit6 years ago

Hai Steemians,

Today I am going to share some basic HTML codes that will help to improve your experience while editing steemit posts. I am sure that this will help a lot of newbies like me.

A. How to make words BOLD

Just add ** at the beginning and end of the word/sentence, which you want to make bold. There shouldn't be space between words and **. I will show you an example. I want to make the word "Steemit is the Best Community" bold.
syntax1.png

Look what we get in preview!!
preview 1.png
B. How to Make Words italic?
Follow what we did while making words bold, but with only one star. i.e., add * at the beginning and end of the word/sentence. Please check the example given below. I want to make the word "Google" in italics.
syntax 2.png

C. Quotation

Use ">" symbol prior to sentence you want to enquote . For example, if you want to quote the sentence "Go ahead, make my way day". You can quote that in the following way:
syntax 3.png
D. How to make clickable words?
Just type the word you want to make clickable in a Square brackets followed by the link you want to embed into the word. I will show you an example. If you want to attach "www.google.com" into the word "Home Page", we can do that in the following way:

syntax4.png

E. How to Make Clickable Images

Put Square Bracket at the beginning and end of the image link followed by destination link in parenthesis.
The syntax is as follows: [image link](destination link).
Suppose, I have an want to add a "Happy New Year Image" to Dubai New Year 2018: midnight light show at the Burj Khalifa, a youtube video, It should be done in the following way.

syntax special.png

If you type this syntax. You will get a clickable image.

F. How to make a Bulleted List?
Use asterisks ( * ) followed by a space. If you want to list "Best currencies", you can list them in the following way

SYNTAX SOMETHING.png

I hope this will help newbies like me, who are weak in technical side of computer language, HTML, and syntax, etc.. I tried to make it as simple as I can. I shared my little knowledge in this platform. Pardon me for grammatical mistakes in my English language. If you really felt it useful, don't forget to UPVOTE and follow.

Image Credits: All images are created by me using MS Paint and screenshot.

Thank you for reading my post. Have a wonderful day

signature.gif

YOU CAN ALSO READ MY PREVIOUS POSTS HERE

  1. 'Voynich Manuscript' Cracked!!

  2. The Sand King

  3. The Forbidden Island

  4. What People In 19th Century Thought The Future Would Look Like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68