The Social Media Exodus Has Begun. Here's Where Everybody's Going.

in #steemit7 years ago

10 years ago, everybody was on MySpace. 10 years from now, the Twitters and Facebooks and YouTubes of today will be dinosaurs, abandoned by users sick of censorship and centralized control. Thankfully, the alternatives to these social media dinosaurs are already here, and they're blockchain-based, torrent friendly, decentralized and censorship resistant.

SHOW NOTES

Leaked Twitter API data shows the number of tweets is in serious decline

Yep, science confirms that quitting Facebook makes people happier

Facebook 'made China censorship tool'

Facebook is censoring posts in Thailand that the government has deemed unsuitable

The Corbett Report on Steemit

The Corbett Report on Minds.com

The Corbett Report on BitChute

Ray Vahey on Twitter

Sort:  

Glad to see you back James, I've missed you here! Looking forward to watching this piece, as I just now saw it appear on my feed.

OK, a rather small piece, more of an introduction of several up and coming alternatives to the centralized media everybody knows. Of the ones you mentioned, bitChute is the most exciting. Several efforts are underway by members of the steemit community to bring an alternative video platform into being, including the @steempowertwins, @solomon-adekale of Sollywood TV and @faddat who lives in Cambodia. He is putting together a type of technology incubator for blockchain related projects.

It is truly amazing how much material you crank out as an individual James, and you focus is not on technology per se, which is why his video is short I suspect. And you even said you will be expanding your reach by posting to the other media sites you mentioned, so you must live on pure adrenaline to get it all done! Hoping to ses you on here more, as your interaction here on Steemit is disappointingly low.

Seems like if you encouraged your viewers to migrate here from the activity on your website such as the open source investigations it would be a win / win for everyone, IMHO.

That's my input to you sir, do with it as you please and keep up the great work!!!

AWESOME to have you back here Mr.! It has been way too long and glad to hear you again, it had been too long for me too. Thanks for sharing these news ideas with us all, it is always a treat to hear your thoughts on such subjects, on any subjects really. Thanks again, keep your smile, thrive on, Steem on and namaste :) All for one and one for all!!!

It would be nice if each video from bitchute.com were presented as a post on steemit.com and some percents of curation reward of that post would go to seeders of that video.

Hopefully social media goes decentralized, people don't understand that all of their content belongs to someone else on centralized sites. When they do realize this, Steemit will be waiting to reward them for their content! I will be glad to see Facebook turn into MySpace.

Thanks for the latest report! I just checked out bitchute.com Appreciate the heads up on that, it's a great idea, I will start posting videos there! :)

What do you think about Vid.me?

My Channel there: https://vid.me/Titus_Frost

Facebook has become a real pain to deal with. They blocked me recently because I posted information on "protection". When they "re-opened" access they showed ma a list of posting that I "may want to delete". Well I did not, as I do reflect about what I am postings and if they don't like it they can take it down themselves. In general this platform is a whole lot better in many ways, however, I have encounter forms of negative speech here as well...

I like the BitChute idea and will check it out. I have currently been checking out VidMe also as it seems to be getting positive comments from users and some big name YouTube accounts are also moving over there. Thanks for the excellent information. Followed.

Thanks for sharing this! I wasn't aware of the censorship on YouTube.

Welcome to the real world.

Steemit Steemit tweeted @ 13 Jan 2017 - 13:53 UTC

The #SocialMedia Exodus Has Begun. Here's Where Everybody's Going. @corbettreport

steemit.com/steemit/@corbe… / https://t.co/aYVcr5ISbR

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76