You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Central Premise & Proposals" - A Series About Fixing Steemit - Part 4

in #steemit6 years ago

I would respond except that @sircork seems to have done a far better job than I could. I might point out that there are already alternative social media blockchains in the making, and that there will surely be ones that have a higher element of centralized control. It is only a matter of time before facebook and reddit have serious answers for monetizing their own users' content, and at that point it will really be a decision for purists of whether they want a platform grinding along the road of "fairness" or the wild west approach. Me, I have no idea which sounds "better" as an option: the most I take away from this site so far is having met a few good people, and been inspired to be more creative. But that could have happened on facebook as well if I had dug deep enough into a more active subcommunity. I think the financial aspect of steemit is a distraction more than anything. I haven't "made" anything off of this platform that i couldn't have "made" by leaving money on an exchange and for me at least the idea of having to make the decision of "what to do" with my account one day if I decide to cash out is pretty stressful. Which probably means I am not very well suited for this environment and would be better off someplace else, but hey now I am invested in it with a lot of time and effort, so I'm staying.

Sort:  

Stick around even if you just hodl some for a bit, the best IS yet to come. I know this, because im on several app teams, working on that. We're really just getting started here. Dilution over time will ease most of the pains focused in a few pockets.

big fish in tiny ponds, arent so big in the ocean...

Ocean sounds good =) and don't worry I'm not going anywhere. The longer I am on this platform, the more cool people I meet who I would hate to lose contact with.

"Come for the money, stay for the community"

You've earned a witness follower today. See how easy that was?

And you get a minnow vote for your witness! That's how this works right? =D =p

Hah :) Yes, and I'm not even sad about it. "support your local business" and here "local" means the people you commune with in communities. So I see nothing wrong with mutual admiration :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81