I "Lost" my Wallet in Japan this Morning - This is What Integrity on the Blockchain Looks Like

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Hey Guys,

This morning, I woke up to a super awesome surprise! @skyleap had drawn one his famous caricatures as a gift for me. I have been a huge fan of his work for a while and I could not be more excited about this! His artwork has such a positive vibe and I plan to use it as a footer on my posts moving forward.

Of course, I gave the post a full vote and re-steem, but that didn't seem like enough of a "thank you". I decided to send him 8 SBD just to let him know how much I appreciated it. By accident, I ended up sending him all of the SBD in my wallet - which was over 200.

I immediately apologized and explained the situation. He was super understanding and immediately sent the remaining SBD back. I got lucky that this mistake happened with someone as trustworthy as @skyleap.

What do you do when someone returns a lost wallet without taking anything? You thank them by giving them something back!


I ended up sending him an extra 5 SBD just to say thanks for being an all-around great human being!

I learned one important lesson today.

Never get too comfortable with blockchain transactions.


I have made countless transactions here on Steemit, and am usually really good about double checking both the amount and the username for errors. Today though, I was just moving fast and didn't really do a double check.

There are no take-backs on the blockchain, and next time - I may not be so lucky.

Then the story got even more interesting...

One of our great Steemit Witnesses, @surpassinggoogle, happened to see the post and our conversation about what had happened. He literally came in and gave us votes and words of encouragement for our good Steemianship.

I have to say, this was so encouraging to see one of our top Steemians take the time to show interest in my mistake and how we handled it. He is one of the most kind hearted and generous Steemians out there, and what started as a crazy and kind of scary story - turned into a super uplifting experience.

With so many reports of scams... I thought I would share some of the GOOD NEWS from today.


The way everything played out really touched my heart! It also really worked as a reminder for me to never get too comfortable with blockchain transactions - and I hope this serves as a reminder for you as well!

Thanks so much for listening/reading!

xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg

This is the awesome drawing @skyleap did for me! I freaking love it. Sipping espresso is my happy place. Ps... you can hire him to do one for you too! Reach out to him if you are interested.

This video is approximately 5 and a half minutes in length


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

wow! I was surprised that it was an article!
I am glad that I became friends with you.(^^)
Money is priceless. Let's keep in mind each other.
Thank you very much.

You are so awesome @skyleap! I’m glad we became friends too. 😊

I appreciate you @skyleap and lots of love for you. All should be like you in order to have a secured social life.

All of my biggest mistakes have come after I get comfortable. Complacency soon follows.
Thanks for this reminder how permanent our crypto actions are.

Great points @roundhere! I’m glad this could be a good reminder for you too. 😊

He is Japanese! haha. I will stick my neck out for most Japanese people, and say that they are all honorable people. Because most Japanese that I've known are very trustworthy, I don't live in Japan but a friend who lives there told me you can drop your wallet with money, or a gold necklace and people will just pass it or take it to the police. In my country they take it without even dropping it 😂

I never thought about the cultural difference! I think you are right that the Japanese culture places a lot of value on honor. Here in the States... people are pretty likely to take your wallet.

I get so nervous ...... every-time i do a transaction .... Im so glad it worked out.. But in Crypto world you really are your own bank ... Its scary and liberating at the same time....

Honestly, that’s probably a good thing that it still makes you nervous! That will help keep you from making mistakes like I did. 😉

This is a really good reminder about the nature of blockchain. The fact that transactions are irreversible means that there is no centralised body (small ruling elite) that makes decisions. That is, it's decentralised. That being said, it means you need to be super dooper careful when sending sbd!!! Awesome story :)

Well put! There are so many advantages to a decentralized system - but it does mean we are all fully responsible for every action because there is no one bail us out.

This is really interesting to get fund back from a trustworthy person like @skyleap. I think we should be careful while we make transactions. This is very much rare that a person backs the money.

You are right! I got super lucky, but it was definitely a good reminder for me!

Obviously, its a memorable reminder for avoiding this type of mistakes. LOL!

You got really lucky..
Most people are not so honest when it comes to money.

Yes, I feel super lucky!

u are so cute !

Thats nice to hear that he gave you back the money. There are lots of people in this world that would take advantage of people and rob them. I'm glad to hear that he gave you back the SBD. It's scary how crypto currency works in that your own bank and there are no take backs.

What a fantastic story :) You encourage this type of kindness and reciprocation with all your positivity @coruscate! Awesome sauce.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63