Introducing Minnow Shares !

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

The idea behind Minnow Shares (@minnowshares) is to make a support group (@upvoteshares | See introduction) that is more social and friendly towards the entire Steem Ecosystem by also helping minnows to grow.



I have always really liked and appreciated the idea of @steembasicincome where you are forced to sponsor someone else when buying yourself a share in their program. Unfortunately this sponsorship comes at a price of lower returns and potential sustainability issues. Thinking about a solution to make a support group with a fair exepcted return that is scabalbe, sustainable that also supports minnows at the same time I came up with @minnowshares



Every Upvote Share comes along with 1 Minnow Share that has to be Sponsored to a Minnow. These minnows that got sponsored 1 or more Minnow Shares are put on the Auto-Upvote list of the @minnowshares account which has 500SP+ in it which will spread daily upvotes until the next level is reached in the Upvoteshares program (for at least 2+ weeks, Read Here). Everyone who manages to collect ~6 (or more) Minnow Shares will be able to trade them for a non-transferrable Upvote Share which will give them daily upvotes from the @upvoteshares account for as long as that project will run.



The support to minnows from @minnowshare is always limited in time and the account where the support is given from is seperate from the main support group account which makes this all very sustainable. The 500SP in the @minnowshares is part of my investment above the 10% that I at least put on top of all the Steem that comes in from the Upvote Shares. I will also fund the Upvote Shares that will be converted for 6+ Minnow Shares which creates extra value to the ones who have Upvote Shares during the time they are inactive.



These Minnow Shares are aimed towards minnows that really do some effort to grow on Steemit and highly value regular upvotes even if they are very small. It will be possible to host contests where Minnow Shares are given away by the ones who get Upvote Shares. I also intend to resteem all those contests to the @minnowshares account.


Every Upvote Shares Level will have 50 Shares. This means maximum 50 accounts will be put in an upvote list to receive upvotes from @minnowshares. In theory all 50 accounts are able to get a daily 20% upvote. Instead I will probably set the standard upvote at 40%-50% and pauze them when the voting power reaches below 80%. This should give everyone regular upvotes and make sure there are also some curation rewards to provide some extra value and grow the @upvoteshares account. I have tested this out and it seems to run properly.

I had all "members" from the Steemit Betting Community (SBC) on the test list (the accounts that are followed by @sbcbot) but this was not really rewarding and the list needs to be updated. Many seem to be making posts without really doing any efforts to grow here on steemit and some seem to have nothing to do with Sports betting whatsoever.



Right now there are 36 accounts that are in the test list to get upvotes from the @minnowshares account.

@beat-the-bookies@costanza@fullcoverbetting@djoker
@marcusbraeburn@numpypython@keegzhawkins@abh12345
@acelad@bethalea@boatsports90@barbadosso
@buggedout@celcius100@crypto2crypto@ervin-lemark
@fiesoerensen@galasek@grof@herverisson
@kryptocek@lawlees@lovetaxi005@michaelluchies
@nicnas@o07@philippekiene@ragnar94
@sazerac@sergino@sevendst19@sportfrei
@suit5@jhunferrer@krusper@byebyehamburgers

I am looking for 14 more Minnows (that actually want to grow on Steemit) to add to the list during the test periode and will try out a 40% upvote weight. Please leave a message in the comments who I should add or why I should add you...


More info and the exact details on this side project to support minnows will follow in a later post once it all goes live. Please feel free to give Feedback and Suggestions in the comments !

Sort:  

Count me in here @costanza, I think you already know how committed I am with the platform. :) I am also a believer who believees that daily upvotes are more good rather than hoping for the occasional whale/dolphin vote. It's nice to have a constant and stable support.

I'm looking forward for us both to keep growing!

Great going! Excited to see this project bloom... I'd like to offer few nominations from the top of my head, some awesome Steemit women bloggers :)
@mariska.lubis
@katrina-ariel
@thekitchenfairy
@saffisara

Thanks for the suggestions jzsamuel ! All of them have quite some SP (I'm not sure yet but I'm thinking about putting some maximum SP limits for the minnow Shares)

I did set all of them (@mariska.lubis | @katrina-ariel | @thekitchenfairy | @saffisara) up with a test upvoteshare that will give daily upvotes the next couple weeks while gettin everything ready to go. (I still have some of them unused while waiting to do a giveaway contest)

Hi!

Awesome initiative and thank you for the spot. If it's needed or more appropriate, I am more than happy should you wish to add those who have lower SP than mine rather rewarding it to me 😊

Thanks a lot for adding :) Yes they're technically still minnows but I can understand the SP limit... Good luck and keep up the awesome work!

Thanks so much for thinking of me, @jznsamuel! I'm honoured to be included with such amazing women. Yay for those working hard to make Steem a better blockchain on many levels! This sounds like a wonderful initiative! :)

Thanks, just doing my little bit and keep up the good work :)

Thank you!

You ALWAYS think of me, that is so sweet of you.

🤗😘🤗😘

I'm doing it for the cookies, haha :D Keep rocking!!

Please add @whitestallion. He just came on Steemit and he is working really hard to make some impact but the low activity rate on Steemit is affecting him.

Thanks for the suggestion @focusnow
I added @whitestallion to the list (13 Spots left)

Can recommend more?

sure, I'm always up to getting to see more solid members here on Steemit

Thank you @costanza for this project and your help and hard work for the community. It would be a honor to be part of this project. Kind regards spprtfrei

Thanks @sportfrei, I've also added you for a test upvoteshare during the time I'm setting everything up and testing things out. It really sucks that the price of steem is so low right now which reflects in the upvotes though.

Great to see that your concept is progressing and the realization is maturing.

Please, tell me - what is your definition of a minnow?

Good question, I've been thinking about where to set the limit and have something in mind around 500SP Max. The main idea is to give some extra push to those who need it to get started off. For anyone with 500SP and above this should not really be an issue. Same goes with the upvoteshares but the other way around. Accounts under 40SP owned won't be able to get those (max 1 share for every ~40SP owned and undelegated I have in mind).

I thought so. Then I am out of the list :)

Hey there @costanza this is a great idea for a constant support for us the most dissapionting thing to see is a post that takes time to create pay out without any reward. These shares will atleast benefit us and motivate us to work harder. I joined steemit about 6 months ago in Jan and expected a great responce but right from the get go I found it hard to make people have a look on my post. Gradually I grew but I'm still a minnow in the community, I have a rule to atleast post once a day so that people are kept engaged with my content and know my dedication towards this platform.

Thanks for the reply @shaheerbari

I would say study these accounts and what they are doing. @fullcoverbetting | @jlordc | @beat-the-bookies (it is possible to crush it on Steemit without investing anything)
Also if you really want to grow, power up everything you earn here on Steemit. Upvotes are often directly linked to to support you give to others. After 6 months with 6.6SP powered up while having 5.631 liquid steem and $25.071 SBD quickly shows the main issue. This gives nobody a real reason to give you support because it is unlikely to benefit the community over time.

I hope this makes sense and helps somehow.

Thanks for adding me :)

51FDB3DF-04E9-418F-AAB1-B900D89C5612.gif

No problem @o07, I also added your for test share from @upvoteshares during the time it's in test mode. The upvotes are not worth much at current low steem price but every bit helps I guess. Keep doing what you are doing !

That’s great,

Also your absolutely right...

No matter how small every little bit counts :)

#iwillspreadthegoodword

D5430E43-A6DF-4DD1-9039-112CC75967CD.gif

Van I nominate myself for a test share?
I contribute by doing all sorts of investigations and writing lots of comments.

I added you to the list cryoto-econom1st !

The low steem price right now makes upvote worth a bit disappointing and it's a challenge to keep them above 0.02$. The voting power quite fixed around 80%-84% and around 24 votes are being spread around each day. I would probably need another 100 SP and a slight increase in the steem price to make it all stable. 40 accounts are on the list right now.

Although I'm not totally sure how it fully works, I think it does matter how frequently one creates a post?
If so then my frequency of 2-3 posts per week might be kind of interesting for your test case. Although if I'm the only one with such a low post frequency, it will not really impact the test. Since I'm only 2.5% from the total number of test accounts.

Thanks for including me!

good idea..

Please add me @vsrsatish, because I am working so hard to get noticed on Steemit, posting interesting posts regularly, I eagerly wanted to increase my reputation points, so that my posts will get more visibility, so that I can reach my dream sooner. Please help me @costanza!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71