You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minnow #541,753—Monthly Report: June

in #steemit6 years ago

This post is really awesome. We should oblige every Steemonian to write such a post on a monthly basis 😁

Commenting is still so undervalued 😥

Further you earned about 20% of your monthly income just with one post.

To bad you didn't got any flags in June. Do I need to help you and solve that 0 for July?
😋

Sort:  

Well, thank you for the kind words, @crypto-econom1st. It seems rather boring as posts go, but it is helpful to see what I've done. I agree it would be great if everyone kept stats, but I think there would be a lot of people turned off by building such a report. It's not why they're here. I'm not even sure how we could get the word out to even 10% of the people, anyway, let alone everyone.

Commenting is undervalued, and probably will continue to be so as long as people look at it strictly from an upvote standpoint. For me, it's the way I get to express myself, show my ability to write, let someone know about me, and have all of that come back at me, too. The vast majority of my comments get nothing, so if I were just going at it based on what I earn, well, I wouldn't do as many as I do, either.

Yeah, the curie trail upvotes helped out tremendously. They're unpredictable, obviously. You never know when they're going to hit, so you can't count on them at all. As it is, though, I'd rather have a 100 upvotes on every post averaging $0.05 an upvote than try to figure out when curie will come calling next. They are awesome, but when they're trying to cover as much of STEEM as they can while doing some filtering for quality, it's just not meant to be a reliable source of rewards.

Hey, do what you got to do. :) I think I'd really rather earn the flag. Maybe wait until I'm on some rant that you totally disagree with or something. I'm bound to have one in a week or two, given how things work around here. :)

I think I have a better idea them flagging you. Let's go bounty hunting!

I figured you could be a very good bounty hunter. Since you write very good comments. So did you consider to react on all bounty posts?
I mean since you do write quote a number of comments you could as well react on the bounty posts of your interest.

Okay, now that's an interesting idea. I take it the bounty hunter has its own account and then posts about which other posts there's a bounty on? I know Asher has been doing it, and I run into them here and there, but I haven't necessarily connected them with a place where I could go to collect bounties. I like it though. Much better than getting flagged, too, by the way. :)

You can find the bounty posts yourself by visiting the @steem-bounty account and look at their comments. Half of the comments is for new bounties and the other half contains the results.

I'm also thinking about creating a post myself to inform my followers in which bounties I participated. Both my followers as well as myself could benefit from such a post.

So, I went to the steem-bounty account, and it appears they have within the last month moved things to their own website? Because there doesn't appear to be posts of what you have described for about four weeks to a month now. I went to the website but my browser warned me that it's not set up right and that my data might not be secure. I've blown through those warnings in the past because I knew the website and nothing has happened, but in this case, I'm not quite ready to chance it. Apparently, people are doing it, but it would be nice if steem-bounty would also comply with what I believe are standard practices and secure their website. In the meantime, I'm going to try to keep track of the bounties on Steemit another way and see what happens.

I did not say look at their posts. I said look at the comments from the Steem-bounty account.
https://steemit.com/@steem-bounty/comments

DCE46E33-3087-40CC-88AD-798099E21C8C.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78