Why do all my friends think Steemit is a SCAM?!

in #steemit6 years ago

hh.JPG

I've been on social media for a while. Although never super successful, our LEGO YouTube channel did have over 3.7k subscribers! Like a lot of creators, I have come to realize putting too much time and effort into YouTube can be a waste of both! YouTube was very consuming, making and editing videos is a task! One of the best things about the LEGO YouTube was the community. Hundreds of people that share your hobby and passion of creating, not only sharing LEGO but making videos as well. Also, you would receive huge support from the community, likes, comments, and even financially! A lot of people would have bricklink stores to sell extra parts they didn't need. A shift took place when people started using Instagram instead of YouTube, this was nice because it would save time if you wanted to share something that you bought or built. However this would start to take away time from YouTube, the platform that actually paid. Although Instagram was faster, it did not have any monetization options. Although they sell a ton of advertising. Being competitive I wanted more likes! This then lead to me taking longer time to build, create, and shoot my photos for Instagram. This would give me more followers, but what's the point? Likes are worth 0. Pretty frustrated in it all, I basically stopped doing both.

Then bitcoin hit 20k! My focus began shifting to cryptos again, of course. I knew about Steemit years ago and of course like buying more bitcoin, I wish I got into Steemit a long time ago. Although you cant change the past, the future is for you to mold! That is why I'm here. It's never too late to start anything and anyone who knows anything about crypto knows it's still early! So I have signed up, once as myself on this account and then @rpgbuilders for our LEGO content. I really like the concept of Steemit and have enjoyed using it so far. I also love the clone apps, like Steepshot. There were still things I enjoyed about Instagram, so having Steepshot is great! I wish DTube would play videos faster or at all, I would be done with all other social media accounts if this happens.

As anyone who has started out a social media account and tries to gain subscribers knows that it's hard. Steemit is no different. But then I started thinking. What if I would talk to some of my old friends from the LEGO community and ask them to join? We all love to support each other, it would be perfect. I would be introducing them to this cool new platform, in return they would give me support and of course I would support them. We would all be standing on top of a mountain like the picture above, celebrating all our success! lol Perfect plan right? Not so much! Instead most of them were more like this pic......
IMG_28811.PNG

I keep hearing scam or sounds scammy! To me putting time and effort for another company who profits from it sounds like a scam to me! That's how Instagram works! You don't log on to see the ads, you do it to see your favorite creators or people. How about Facebook, selling your personal information to make money. Of course YouTube, they canceled our partnership, but people I do know that still have a partnership with with them have videos demonetized all the time. I'm not talking about anything controversial. I am talking about LEGO videos, family friendly videos. Also its seems that people relate crypto to scam, if this is the case we are due for a huge upside with bitcoin and cryptos. Once people realize they are not a scam and all the benefits they have.

Finally any advice on how to approach people about stemmit? I usually just say I have found a great new social media platform that pays creators for their posts, comments, and even liking material. I even state it's not that much so they have a real expectation on what its about. Also I say it's free, but like most apps it has a paid option. To me Steemit is the future, or at least something close to it. Bloggers content is worth something and they should get paid for it! This system allows for that. Why is everyone scared? Scared to succeed? One last thing, no one says no because they don't have time. They either don't reply or cant believe you could get paid for using social media.

Have a good day!

Sort:  

Most people are set in their ways and fear change. They will come eventually.

Another reason to call you BrickBlaze! Blazing trails through this new frontier! :) Still more to ask, gets discouraging for sure! Thanks for being here Jason!

great write up! i hope ditchut works out as the new youtube...i just like how it is set up over dtub...i think steemit is great for writing vs medium but should stick to being mainly a writing platform instead of trying to do it all. also this is a scam from what i read about the owners owning the majority of steem..i just figure it beats medium.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63