Distribution of reputation levels 2017-12-27 / Verteilung der Reputationslevel 27.12.2017

in #steemit6 years ago
Currently there are more than 530000 steemit accounts, but over 80 percent still has the starting reputation level 25.

I've visualized the distribution of the reputation levels. The numbers at top of the cuboid are the reputation level and the number of accounts with that level.
Aktuell gibt es mehr als 530000 steemit-Accounts, aber über 80 Prozent haben noch immer den Start-Reputationslevel 25.

Ich habe die Verteilung der Reputationslevel in der folgenden Grafik visualisiert. Die Nummern auf den Oberseiten der Quader geben den Reputationslevel und die Anzahl der Accounts mit diesem Level an.

rmp_reputationlevels20171227.png
Click to zoom

Also you can see, the current minimum reputation level is -18 and the maximum reputation level is 78.
Wie in dem Bild zu erkennen ist, ist der minimale erreichte Reputationslevel zur Zeit -18 und der maximale Reputationslevel 78.


For comparison, the diagram of 2017-09-17:
Zum Vergleich das Diagramm vom 17.09.2017:

rmp_reputationlevels20170917.png
Click to zoom

Sort:  

Steemit almost needs another system added, like an "attendance" rating.

For example, Accounts would start at 100 Attendance, and 100 would be the highest rating you could have. each day that you posted something or made a comment/reply, you would gain 1 Attendance. If you don't post something for a day, you lose 1 Attendance.

This would incentivize people to keep at it, and would help see just how many of the 25 rating accounts are dormant.

The problem with this is that spammers could easily level this attendance rating up. The value of that score would become kind of useless.

Also, don´t post something every day. Have a (real) life. ;-)

What an insane graphic. When you see it like this, it really puts everything into perspective! Thanks for sharing!

This is a great visual representation. It really helps to put the reputation levels in perspective. Why are there so many accounts that remain at 25 though? Are they just not being used? I am a bit confused by that.

yes this greal visual

There are many acounts that are created, but never used, because the long time between registration and creation of an account. Also there are many authors that post some content, but never get enough upvotes to reach level 26 or more.

I'm new to Steem. I had browsed the site for a bit before signing up for an account. Honestly, I had forgotten about the site between the time I signed up and got approved. There has to be a faster way of verifying accounts. What is the process for them to do so? How can it be accelerated?

Similarly, I found the lag time a bit discouraging.
I suppose the diagrams above potentially support the need for checks and balances, though, to (perhaps optimistic to suggest it) limit the capacity for creating multiple or automated accounts.

I think the big lag relies upon that the team is still approving accounts personally. It takes more time because they don't want to just verify your account/your email address but they also want that good content is posted on this site. This is especially important for the young age of this platform and I, therefore, think that it's good to take some time before approving/verifying accounts. Also, you have to consider that, if a "spammer" signed up, he wouldn't want to wait for days to be verified.

True enough.

I suppose that the latency between account registration and account creation means some people lose interest and never come back. And then there is the other group that becomes frustrated with little to no rewards immediately and just quit. Still, it seems like A LOT of people for 25 reputation haha...

How did you find these stats @cryptoriddler?

P.S.: It's great you're posting in both English and German

I created these statistics myself with Steem-Python to get the data and use Blender to visualize it.

Steem-python would be good to read a post on. ....Ah there is a good one here https://steemit.com/steem-dev/@jesuscirino/steem-python-step-by-step-1-getting-started

Well done and helpful @cryptoriddler. Thanks for sharing this in such an easy to understand way.

The lag is not as bad as other "exclusive" social medias though, a day or so is managable for the fickle flock.
Ello took months, and was not worth the wait.

How many upvotes you need to reach level 26?

There is no fix number of upvotes someone need to reach level 26. If the votes comes from new small accounts you need more than 100 upvotes for this one level. But if the upvote comes from a big whale account, you need only one upvote and got a higher level as 26 after that.

Thats right ... i needed 12 days to get my account activated ;-)

that's right it took 12 days to activate my account

I created my account yesteray, and I wanna make it great, lvl 29. Steemit is a great Platform :)
Ich bin seit gestern registriert und ich will den Blog groß machen. Die Plattform ist der Hammer :)

Some are simply bogus, look at their wallets and posts, they are being funded by whales for controlling other users, in unethical ways. You will notice some have no post or blog, yet they have been funded over $25,000. Its my opinion that Facebook entities are manipulating Steem, as it is in competition for users. Facebook has the money to buy Steem and manipulate user payouts and create problems. facebook has advertising and tracks every user. Steemit pays users for their posts and has no advertising, but there is disagreement over the payout ethics.

Nice analysis...

Do you really think Steem would even be on facebooks radar? Facebook is a giant and I can't imagine is that afraid of getting replaced anytime soon.

Facebook is a nothing more than a data collection tool for people to reveal their everyday activites, reveal who their freinds and relatives and employers are, then sells the data to marketing companies, local, state federal and foreign governments. If Stalin, Lenin, Hitler, or Mao Tse' Tung had facebook- they could have taken over much, much easier. Just look at how many people have had family disputes and lost jobs or other things from some random comment they posted on facebook. One of my freinds daughters was arrested and kept in jail for over a week after she said something trivial on facebook, which was just an emotional female outburst after her boyfreind broke up with her. After her stint in jail, and my freind (The father of the girl) came home and found the police searching his house- the whole family got off facebook. Zuckerburg makes his money from collecting data on people all over the world, thats why he would fund such activities to disrupt our peaceful community- because the blockchain offers us some protection, for now, at least, where we are free to speak our minds. Mark Zuckerburg is the Heinrich Himmler of the 21st century, collecting data from the sheeple who havent figured out that they are just writing their own dossiers on themselves. I remember a time when we used to call each other on the phone, and talk- like people. Now some parents can only communicate with their kids by texting and using emoticons, which is ridiculous- I witness this daily. Imagine if facebook and the internet shut down- how many teenagers and adults who lack the abilitiy to communicate eye to eye and face to face would have emotional breakdowns. Facebook is an addictive form of communication that dehumanizes the masses, and I for one dont get on facebook- ever. Follow the money. Opinons vary.

Spot on, you nailed it!

Great way of looking at things!

I agree with you @marcoagarcia3rd great way of thinking

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Zuckerberg <--- Read about Zuckerburg- he used to go to college with the winklevoss twins, who own Gemini.com- the biggest cloud mining platform and they sued him for misleading them about his intentions of facebook. Mark Zukerburg bought some land in Hawaii, and then tried to force all the indiginous natives who had lived there for generations to sign over their land rights to him and leave. Nice guy- NOT.

thank you for this information
I do not think Zuckerberg is a good guy

If you don't count the custom google search ads that is ;)

This is brilliant, thanks for the post! And great choice for the visualisation :)

Where did you find the data?

gathered the data with steem-python

oh right I saw you mentioned that in another comment, didn't understand that's where the data was from as well. Thanks!

Great data. I'd be curious the comparison of reputations against when people joined. Are you simply looking at a cohort analysis of starting dates, or are you looking at cumulative interaction of users?

Such a comparison of reputations against when people joined is a good idea. Let's see if I can implement that.

That may be hard to calculate give that I was approved in less than twenty four hours whereas the person who turned me onto the site said it took him several days to get approved. I don't know why it took him so long compared to me, I do have a very high rep on another discussion forum but that reputation comes from the comments and how you relate to other people. That may be what the problem is here. Most people coming from other forums reputations are build on the you communicate with other people not based on a monetary reward. I had a hard time dealing with that and I've only been here for four days or so. I don't even know why I am still here or decided to keep going, frustration with site ownership turnover at the old forum sites maybe has more to do with it but even then I had to weight my feelings of my comments being considered worthless now that they had a monetary value attached and no upvotes. Lots of people are on forum sites because it gives them a outlet, a connection to other people and that just means more to them then money.

I hear you @sunlit I'm also new here and still figuring the site out gradually. It is as if we are all strangers meeting in this Steemroom, no one knows anyone so we just make friends with strangers, but until then few people to befriend, or very few read our posts and we wonder how to get upvoted, how to make Steem or how to get credits.
I appreciate those who share knowledge on the way.

Newbie here, i know the feeling. Still not knowing how things work. And advice from anyone is very much appreciated.

This is Great. But How to Increase Reputation Level.

The level increases through upvotes you get. So be active, write articles and comments. Maybee it helps when you use services like SteemFollower.

Thanks @cryptoriddler, I was wondering how to get my posts read, how to make some progress here on Steemit. I see some profiles are just spammers or scammers, trying to milk the system but not offering any creative or knowledgeable content. Some are probably bots or trolls or whatever, as you mentioned above.
So I appreciate your genuine sharing. I was approved quickly enough, but still learning what to actually do on the site to progress, to get readers, what to speak of votes or credits (secondary), so you have helped a lot.

Man thanks for taking the time to visualise this for us my wife and I really appreciated being able to see that although we are but humble minnows we have already gained a reputation 44 and 46 that so many never reach.

So I'm of to keep working on that rep :)

You sir are more than welcome to my tiny 0.02 upvote.

Have a great day
Kind Regards
Peter

Wow, you do have a high reputation. Just keep at it!

Very useful article. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for these surprising stats. Im curious how many of those profile are dead and how many logged in last month... anyway it looks like we should help 25ers even more in order to help steemit grow.

I will continue to investigate what is going on with these many 25s.
What I find out, is that the first step from level 25 to 26 is much bigger, than the step from 26 to 27.

it just counts all (25) profiles that were created but never really used.. most users just try one post and if it doesnt work they give up..

Just a shot from the hip here, but I would guess there are a lot who took a look at the platform and thought "eh, I'll sign up. Can't hurt," and then just never got interested enough to sign in again.
For instance, I opened my account a few weeks ago but didn't post anything until yesterday because as soon as I saw there was a crypto involved I felt like I had to go research "what in the blazes is a cryptocurrency" before even posting. I was afraid I'd wind up losing money.
Others may be more tech-savvy than I was, but I would imagine the phenomenon of "hey, new website! Cool!" and then never returning again, is probably commonplace. With more traditional social media platforms, such an account would simply go offline after being dormant for X number of days, but with Steemit I don't even know if that is possible, and that's a bit of a problem (or so it seems to me, without a lot of knowledge on the subject) because with every new user automatically being issued an amount of STEEM when they open an account, isn't there a lot of this currency just sitting around?
And if that's true, doesn't that have an impact on the value of the currency (to say nothing of the value of the site experience itself)?

Thank you for this informative post. Do you have the raw data available as in a file. It would be interesting to have the number of accounts dependent on reputation level and age.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79