So much plagerism!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Plagiarism is rampant!

Plagerism is becoming more and more of a problem on Steemit, which is a real shame because Steemit is my favourite platform to get and share information. I have heard excuses and justifications for plagiarism and I felt a need to speak out about it. Plagerism is intellectual theft, it is essentially profiting from other people's hard work by copy and pasting it. What is worse than that is putting it on a monetised platform and earning money off other people's work.

Plagerism is not acceptable, Steemit is a platform for people to share information and content that THEY create! If you don't have the intelligence, patience, honesty, and a willingness to put in effort to write your own content then you should not be on this platform.

Stealing content is not good for the Steemit platform and does not send a positive message to new users and outsiders. Serious content creators could be put off our platform if they see people making money off other people's hard work. In short, plagerism hurts the Steemit platform.

I usually have a live and let live attitude but stealing work from other people is not acceptable. I do not see how it is in anyway different than stealing business ideas or copying patented designs. Up until now have only downvoted content about 5 times, and that was for spam, but from now on I will start downvoting plagerism and I am hoping you guys will do the same. We need to send a message to content thieves that there is no money to be made plagiarising. I am getting tired of clicking on posts with an interesting title only to find content that I have already read word for word on one of the cryptocurrency news websites or in other Steemit blogs.

I wanted to publicly thank the cheetah bot and Steemcleaner for allowing users to easily identify stolen content and I hope you carry on the good work. I am fully aware that this post puts me at risk of losing some followers but that's okay. I don't want dishonest followers anyway.

Happy Investing

Cryptoviking

viking.png

Sort:  

Everything is rampant. Scammers, spammers, plagiarizers, copy/pasters, comment spammers, bot nets, you name it.

The problem is it seems to be more and more encouraged by the whales voting for it and use of those dang boosters and resteem things. It's like trying to plug the whole in the dyke when the water level is 2 feet over it and rising.

Sure, but it can easily be turned around. If we decide that stolen content or scams are to be downvoted at all costs people will stop doing it.

Unfortunately most people only see the short term reward in getting the curation from upvoting. Getting people to downvote or even remove their votes from abuse is worse than pulling teeth. The scammers are slowly winning. All they have to do is what that g-dub is doing to try to take support away from those actually fighting the abuse. The personal attacks and revenge flaggings are fun too. deal with too.

Yeah I agree and for the record, I am against personal attacks and revenge flagging too, I should have mentioned that in my post because it is a definite problem.

I totally agree with this Plagiarism is becoming more and more of a problem. it needs to stop create unique blogs even simple a few lines are better than copy and paste. we don't have a moderator to go around but it relies upon the community!

Yes it's what makes Steemit great but it does also mean that it is our job to crack down on plagiarists and scammers.

at least all the plagarizers get called out by cheetah

Yeah absolutely, but if plagerism was flat out downvoted to all hell, we wouldn't see any of it. I can't imagine people bothering to copy and paste content if they know with some degree of certainty that it will be a waste of time.

Let s create our own work. So many things we can write and talk about.

Exactly, it's not like we are restricted by content.

Completely Agree!

Steemcleaners sucks. No consistent application of their rules, whatever they happen to be. Don't even know who these people are.
Cheetah bot is ok but can't distinguish between quoted text and plagiarism.
They have a lot of work to do.
The solution is really simple. Don't upvote plagiarized content.

Can you tell the scammer/spammer in this thread? Here's a clue look up.

Lol try reading my content first.

I have your nothing but a spammer pushing scams who didn't like being flagged for it.

You didn't read jack shit.

I have quoted small amounts of texts before during a presentations and have not had problems. I know both cheetah and Steemcleaners have been known to retract downvotes if contacted. As long as the content is the poster's content it can easily be fixed.

They need to be a lot more transparent to be effective.
I get it, my opinion is not popular, just check out @zathras comment, but if they're so good they should be able to easily defend themselves. Yet it remains more like a centralized faceless entity.

I disagree. I don't see what they need to defend themselves for. All they are doing is pointing out matching content, and if the bot turns out to be incorrect they can be contacted and the downvote/comment removed. I don't understand your problem with it.

They didn't downvote me for plagiarism they downvoted me for having referral links at the end of the post... something that's done by quite a few people who don't seem to get steemcleaners wrath. That's my issue. They haven't responded to any of my comments.
Crypto is all about not having central authorities controlling people and imo they act like a central authority.

Well, I think we will just have to agree to disagree. Decentralised doesn't mean you get to do whatever you want. Having bots downvote people for not adhering to the rules is not at all in contrast to decentralisation.

I'm certainly not doing whatever I want.
Explain to me why some get downvoted but others not.
All I want is something that's clear to understand and fair and it's not that way right now.

If they catch you it gets downvoted and if they don't it doesn't. It seems to me that you are trying to overcomplicate a simple situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73