You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Lucky Escape

in #steemit6 years ago

Yikes! Even with this small account, I would have totally had a panic attack!

I read stories like this, and even though I have "double fail-safe" backups, I still worry. I even have an image file of my password on several devices (basically a screen shot turned into a jpg) which is one of those things people wouldn't look for.

Reading stories like this, though, again makes me ponder whether to invest in a password manager like Dashlane...

=^..^=

Sort:  

It was not a good few days.

I know of someone with an account holding around 56 000SP who had the hard drive with his password stored on it die and there were no other backups. They have been unable to get anything off the hard-drive. I also have a screenshot of my passwords now. Password managers aren't a bad thing but security experts still recommend good old pen and paper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84