You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earn More & Power Down Faster - Video Chat with Mrs.Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

It's not so big of a deal to me that the give a bigger proportion to the reward pool. The issue to me is that Powering Down is only 3 months from 2 years. It seems to reduce the attractiveness of Steem Power.

This is because right now Steem Power has no other selling points. There isn't much utility for Steem Power except that it would provide interest. Without interest why would anyone want it? And I'm not someone who bought in but I earned my Steem Power with no intention of ever cashing it out or powering down, thinking maybe it will have more utility than it would be worth in dollars.

Steem Power needs to be of utility, and needs gamification. Steem has to be fun and Steem Power has to represent social power.

Sort:  

When you talk about gamification, do you mean things like perks based on reaching "levels" like myself and @beanz have made posts about? I wrote a little web page to show people what "level" they are at but it's not in a presentable state yet (totally functional, but raw). It's based on the same way that levelling works in games like World of Warcraft, marginally increasing costs for each new level. I think something like that would be a great reference point for providing perks, again like in World of Warcraft where your level allows you to use new skills, equipment, take on new jobs etc). Are we thinking along the same lines?

Yes I mean levels, quests, perks, status, all of that. We are missing that. Instead it seems the focus here is on how much money each poster has rather than how much status.

It's something I want to get @ned to answer at SteemFest, if they are not thinking along these lines then I don't see how we can ever expect Steem to be long term viable. It can't be run on whale investor benefits alone, and even if it could it would not be desirable. Ordinary users need to want Steem Power or the whole thing is a sham.

Gamification is a way to improve UX. UX is one of the missing components.

I totally agree. I'm assuming that steem power will be employed on other steem-based apps in the future, right? I'd love to see a MMORPG that utilizes Steem Power as the "health" or "magic power" or in-game money or something like that. More utility on STeemit itself would be great too, obviously. Let me know if you hear about any such plans.

Has anyone done a Steampunk/Neovictorian MMORPG yet? Seems like a perfect fit...

Like an online version of Theif or Dishonored? I'd play the shit outta that.

@dana-edwards is this why you have stopped posting? I hope you start up again.

I haven't stopped posting because I'm posting now. I don't post as frequently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75