Steem Silver Coin Design - Steemsilverround

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This is my submission for the #steemsilverround contest organized by @phelimint. The goal of the competition is to design a 1 oz silver bullion Steem coin for 2018. I wanted to make this design a little bit different, and when I pictured the coin at first, I wanted the Steem Logo to be punched through the coin. This for me adds a different element and also creates more contrast for the logo.

untitled.2083.jpg

For the overall texture I wanted to include the digital elements of the technology in the Steem Blockchain. Naturally I chose the lines which you find on a circuit board.

untitled.2084.jpg

Please let me know what you think ?

Sort:  

Squirt squirt squirt!!!

Very well done!

😎👍

Thanks a lot !

The competition is now open for voting if you want to check it out here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

Thanks Dan! I just voted for your design but added i thought the cutouts would be worth additional cost. Cheers! and congrats on a stunning design.

Thanks a lot buddy I really appreciate it !

damn it...i hate i when Steemit tricks me to upvote 3 times for the same coin, i guess i must really want it badly

Hahah thanks for the support buddy ! I really appreciate it

This looks awesome! I'd definitely add some of these to the stack ;)

The competition is now open for voting if you want to check it out here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

Thanks Buddy! Did you buy the coin for 2017 ? would be fun to start collecting them :)

I like the background detail the best. The negative space along with textures and reflective spaces are well designed as well.

Thank you for the kind comment :) when I saw the competition I knew I wanted to give it a try - I just wish I would have had more time to work on it - but that's how it always is - we just have to try to make the best with what we got i guess

The competition is now open for voting if you want to check it out here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

This is super cool man, I love the look of the reverse proof with the frosted background. I'm not sure if the mint is currently set up for anything like this, but I also know they love testing out new ideas and giving things a try. I would image it would need to be struck twice and likely with two different dies with a round in the tumbler in between. It would certainly raise the price of the round but would certainly be a premium piece.

Thanks ! I must admit I didn't take the minting technique and limitations into consideration for this design as I don't really know what they are. But when designing something new it's always a learning curve and that is awesome. Looking forward to see what they have to say about the design.

Further more I would like to say that this competition is an awesome initiative as I think that silver and gold still go hand in hand with crypto - it's the same goal, keeping your own money in your own hands and control.

What about a 1/3 ounce inner with the cut-out, encased in the 2/3 oz outer ring? Like the bi-metal polar bears, except both silver? I guess it would be a crazy challenge to mint it, in either case. Laser cut all the planchets first?

Thats an interesting idea! They have checked it now and unfortunately the middle cant be cut out straight through, and has to be closed. I think it will still look cool.

The competition is now open for voting if you want to check it out here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

Hey man, It turns out the cost would be prohibitive to attempt a project like this, I have still included your design, but I'm wondering if you could do a version with an intact center.

That is no problem at all. I can change it anyway needed for it to be able to be produced. Except for making an intact center what else is needed to make the project feasible?

Hi @pheliment - please check if this would work ?

new plugged.2aa095.jpg

Yes, I don't think the cutouts are necessary for the overall look of the coin.

Thanks for saying that - and I agree

Hell yeah. I think this would be pretty cool hanging as a necklace medallion too.

Yeah that would be wicked as a pendant maybe a half oz version tho so not too heavy 👍

Good point, half an oz would be much better in this case

The competition is now open for voting if you want to check it out here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

Thanks mate, I love your design but without the cutout it's too similar to the other side of the coin so I voted for different designs, great work tho thanks 👍

Thanks for your honesty ! It's a pity they can't make the cut all the way through

Thats a Very good point, I could definitely see this being used as a necklace medallion as well

The competition is now open for voting if you want to check it out here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

I love it! Love the intricate designs which make it look rather techno.

Thank you ! The competition has started if you want to check it out :

https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

I just saw this. Was a bit lazy the last couple of days.

I want to get one of the new steemit coins so I am following a bit the designs .

Yours is really the coolest one I have seen so far.

Thanks a lot for saying that . They say it might be a bit difficult to make, but i hope they can figure out a way. When i move back to Sweden i will also figure out how to do minting myself - that would be awesome

You might have a customer already who wants to pay in sbd

sounds awesome ! If I can get
my hand one more than 1 I will give you one as a belated/early birthday present

That's a friggin winner man! Best I have seen so far!

I'm very humbled that you say that ! Thank you 😊

The competition is now open for voting if you want to check it out here is the link: https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61