You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it gameover for Steemit & Can it ever make a come back? Im worried

in #steemit5 years ago

I'm still optimistic when it comes to Steem. Currently there is no better or more developed social media blockchain. And don't conflate Steemit with Steem. If you don't like the Steemit interface, use Steempeak or Busy or eSteem or whatever. In the long run, Steemit liquidating their holdings would be better for Steem (though in reality they are unlikely to do this) because that means it will likely become more distributed.

As I understand it, a "Steem 2.0" based on EOS has been planned ever since Dan left Steemit to work on EOS. This is separate from Steem and will be a competitor. How well it does remains to be seen. For the moment it is vaporware. Right now Steem has a big advantage in that it has an established user base and a number of dApps built on it already. However, the Steem community, especially Steemit and other large stakeholders need to figure out how to maintain this advantage so that Steem doesn't become the Friendster or MySpace of social media blockchains. But like i said, I'm still optimistic.

EOS seems overly complicated so I'm not convinced of its long term success. I've played around with other blockchain based social media (like Whaleshares and Weku) but I find they have fewer users and they have no dApps to speak of. For now, Steem is still number 1 among social media blockchains by a long shot though that is no guarantee of future success.

Sort:  

Brillant reply, thank you

I have never really consider any other steem interface to do my posting from. So steemit 2.0 is not really something to worry about in the short term, that makes me feel better. I do hope things start to happen and they add things like steemit communities and get their SMT released.

I have a few EOS but not many, i never really got the hype back when it was coming up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95